We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Series of disasters” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aylesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Stanmore London
Level Contributor
232 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Series of disasters”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked to stay the night after going to the theatre in Aylesbury to save driving back to London. Arrived about 415pm and there was a long queue to check in and enquire about bookings for rooms and functions. The manager invited us to take a seat in the bar while she dealt with the queue and we ordered drinks and booked a table to eat before we went out. She came to let us know she was ready and apologised that everyone turned up at once.
The room was small but seemed clean at first glance, but all the surfaces, lights, chairs etc were dusty.
Unfortunately the kitchen had a mechanical failure and the menu was very restricted, no Sunday roast or grills, but we had a reasonable meal and friendly service.
After the theatre we returned just after closing time at 10.35 but were told by the bar staff that we could not buy a drink or a packet of crisps to take to our room even though we were residents.
Returned to the room and discovered there was no toilet paper and also wanted to know if the tap water in the bathroom was drinking water, and found the phone was not working to contact the night porter. The bed was not very comfortable, but we settled down and were then disturbed by voices through the walls either side-apparently there was a domestic going on and the police were called. Obviously not the hotel's fault, but by then we decided to give up, get dressed and drive home. The manager had been called out because of the trouble, and was profusely apologetic and refunded our money without question.
Overall a catalogue of problems, mostly outside their control and dealt with as well as one could ask, but the housekeeping needs a major shakeup to improve room standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PnJStanmoreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    47
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
16
41
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We started our stay here badly when our request for a twin room had been declined and we were stuck with a double. The room was small, but well furnished with everything one would expect. The food was tasty and well presented, but rather nouvelle cuisine for our liking. The prices were cheaper than some of the surrounding pubs. The service was good except when we first walked in and were ignored by several members of staff. I also had to wait over five minutes at the bar before I could pay the bill. This is a good establishment, but apparently slightly understaffed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith4529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
The time you have taken to leave us a review following your visit to The Five bells, Innkeeper's Lodge,Aylesbury (south) is appreciated, and we will use your comments to ensure that our standards do not fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here on the first night of our Ridgeway walk. Very comfortable rooms away from main pub so no noise to bother us. Decided to eat in pub - good choice of real ales and very good choice of pub grub. Food was lovely and reflected in the price which is a bit more than the average pub but worth it. Breakfast was a good continental selection with something for everyone.

Clean, comfortable, friendly staff and overall a good place for an overnight stop!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollux_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Aylesbury (south) Weston Turville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Very sorry Five Bells, but we visited on a Friday around 7pm and as most tables were taken we had thought we were in for a nice treat, but our experience was far from it and we will not be returning, my husband had fish and chips which was a child size portion and very over cooked, ( I remember visiting here in the past when the fish you ordered hung over the side of the plate), I had the Gammon which was actually nice, and my daughter had fish cakes which were two patties of tasteless mush, we asked for the sauce not to be poured on the fishcakes and there was a mix up in the kitchen so my daughter got her meal after we had finished (they didnt even offer to keep ours warm while we waited for a fresh meal to be prepared), there was no apology, we had 3 different waiters non really seemed committed to us - maybe it was just change over shift time ? they must be doing something right there as it was busy, but as I say we will not be returning, maybe its just how the big chains opperate nowadays

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wirley1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to the Restaurant and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
The Five Bells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here for our son's entry into the RAF, which is perfectly located for. First impressions were great as it was spotless and looked very clean and traditional inside. The chap that booked us in could have been a little more helpful and maybe not look so fed up when we asked for direction to somewhere. The room was clean and comfortable, although the bed was probably the biggest let down as it was just a bit too bouncy and the pillows were like lumps of bricks. But, it was still a cosy room with everything you need for a overnight stay. We also ate here which was quite reasonably priced and very good. The waiter made up for the other lad who checked us in as he could not do enough for us. The breakfast was a little let down as we thought it was old fashioned egg bacon sausage but it was toast and cereal, which was sufficient really but just wasn't expecting that.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Padge39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Booked this hotel for a one night stay 22nd May before travelling to Gatwick Airport, on arrival plenty of car parking and were welcomed enthusiastically, check in was prompt and simple and when we asked about leaving at about 4.30am were immediately offered a wake up call and continental breakfast tray,something we did not expect.

The room was on the first floor and was warm and clean, a problem with the laundry that day meant no pillow slips until 5pm but this was explained to us and caused no problem whatsoever. We did not eat at the hotel but the food we saw going out looked very apetising and the menu seemed reasonably priced. We enjoyed a bottle of Pinot Grigio which was quite expensive but well chilled and good quality - I would say value for money given the surroundings.

We ate at a friends house and returned to the hotel by taxi at about 10.30pm no noise was heard really even though we slept with the window open. The room and bathroom were clean but really compact, but adequate for an overnight stay.

As promised the breakfast tray arrived and we enjoyed coffee juice cereal and coissant before travelling to Gatwick. All in all ticked all the boxes.

Room Tip: Did not really see many of the rooms but housed in a block apart from the pub restaurant so should b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veryhappytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable pub lunch in the front garden on the bank holiday Monday. Friendly, prompt service and reasonable prices. Beer battered mushrooms really enjoyable and cost only £2 to add-onto a sandwich deal. Chicken and bacon sandwich was well made with a tasty filling. BBQ beef ciabatta was also very nice and a little bit different. Pâté and bread also good quality and my wife enjoyed. Lovely shandy! Would definitely recommend and go back again. Was quite tempted with the special Father's Day lunch. Was quite surprised how nice the pub was inside, original flagstones, lots of seating and very cosy.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BucksOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aylesbury hotels
1.7 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#7 of 11 in Aylesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Address: 40 Main Street | Weston Turville, Aylesbury HP22 5RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel with character near Tring and the Chiltern Hills, this charming 19th century lodge, nestled in the ancient Aylesbury village of Weston Turville, is a great place to stay.In the 1800s, local farmers tethered their horses to the fence of the pub while they popped inside for a drink. Back then there was barely enough room for four tables. These days, guests can enjoy much more spacious surroundings, which combine all the rustic charms of the original old English inn together with plenty of 21st century comforts.Upstairs there are 16 modern rooms while the pub, among the cosiest around, is the perfect spot to enjoy a few heart-warming drinks and some fresh, seasonally inspired food.You'll find the village near Aston Clinton and Aylesbury, just down the road from the renaissance-style splendour of Waddesdon Manor. Nearby, you can venture into the hills along the famous Icknield Way or relive the glories of the age of steam at Buckinghamshire Railway Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing