We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbotts View Alpacas

Abbotts View Alpacas
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Aylesbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: An appointment only family run farm in glorious Buckinghamshire countryside offering alpaca experiences, open farm days, birthday parties, afternoon teas and alpaca walks. Come and learn about these wonderfully inquisitive animals and take them for a walk around our 22 acres. Meet our rare breed sheep and pigs, miniature ponies, pygmy goats, ducks, rabbits and guinea pigs and sample some of Jo's famous homemade cakes! Relaxing, peaceful and true escapism. Please note that as we are not an open farm visits are only by private booking only.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I bought an alpaca experience for my Mum's birthday and the four of us went along on Saturday.

Firstly Jo was a pleasure to deal with in arranging our visit and was totally accommodating and willing to postpone and rearrange if the weather was bad. After numerous emails discussing the best options we visited on Saturday afternoon, less than 24 hours after the birth of Charlie, their first cria born this year (very cute he is too!).

We were walked through the farm meeting the animals along the way, hand feeding various alpacas and admiring (and laughing at!) all the variety of haircuts James had given them, particularly Barney and his poodle cut!

We then met the four alpacas we were going to walk around the hay field. They are very funny animals who can be quite skittish (as my other half discovered when his alpaca made a bid for freedom, and poor James had to get a bit more exercise chasing him across the field!), but were a pleasure to walk (as long as you're not in a hurry!).

We then met Buckthorn the itchy horse who just LOVES a scratch whether by hand or by electric fence!

We headed into the barn for tea and wonderful cake just as the clouds were starting to roll in. We couldn't have timed it better.

Jo, James and Amy are passionate about their animals and for them to share that passion and knowledge is an experience that will stay with us for a long time... we had a wonderful day and will certainly keep an eye on Open days. I am also looking forward to trying Jo's tip of using duck eggs in cakes instead of hens eggs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best party ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My daughter had her 8th birthday party here and the children absolutely loved it. When we arrived we had a warm welcome from Jo, the owner, and the children then started their hands on tour of their farm. They fed the pigs, took the alpacas for a walk, fed them, groomed the miniature ponies and then held the guinea pigs and rabbits. The farm is very well kept and the animals well cared for. Following the animal experience the children then did pebble painting in the barn whilst I was able to get their party food ready in the kitchen (within the barn). The facilities were new and spotless. The farm is a family run business and the whole family got involved and made the children feel very comfortable. Cannot recommend highly enough for a well organised, hands on party - all her friends want to have their parties there now! Thank you Jo and family for making her birthday party a unique and unforgettable experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebHayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was a Mother's Day gift from my daughter, I'd wanted to see Alpacas for a long time. I wasn't disappointed, Jo and James were delightful, passionate and keen to share their love of these unique animals. The Alpacas were amazing, aloof, elegant, funny, inquisitive and more, each one was an individual character. A wonderful morning finished off with the best piece of homemade coffee and walnut cake I've had in years. We will definitely go again. Thank you Jo and James

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a wonderful way to spend a morning! We were so glad that we chose your alpaca experience as a birthday treat. You are so knowledgeable and passionate about what you do and that really shows in what you have achieved in a short time. The alpacas are so appealing and we loved taking them for a walk and seeing all your other animals and the lovely coffee and cakes afterwards really topped off a perfect visit. The way that you have created the eco-farm is just inspirational. We shall recommend you to all our friends and look forward to visiting again sometime. We also look forward to seeing some photos of the babies on your website once they have arrived!
Thanks so much James and Jo and we wish you every success with your venture in the future.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobandsue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely afternoon treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a really lovely afternoon with Jo and James and their friendly and inquisitive Alpaca's. This was a birthday present for a friend and it couldn't have been a nicer way to spend a sunny Saturday afternoon. We were made very welcome and learnt a lot about their adorable and friendly boys and girls! We enjoyed the walk around the field and their plans to make even more of their land in the future. Jo and James have certainly learnt a lot about Alpaca's over the last two years and their enthusiasm and passion was plain to see. It was nice to end the visit with tea and delicious homemade cake and we really all really enjoyed the whole afternoon and look forward to buying some of the baby alpaca wool too! I would thoroughly recommend this visit for anyone of any age.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbotts View Alpacas also viewed

Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
 
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Abbotts View Alpacas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing