We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the Curate's Egg - "Good in Parts"”
Review of Olympic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olympic Lodge
Ranked #36 of 41 Aylesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2012

As others have said, if you're looking for luxury, you'd better not stay here. My room on the first floor, was perfectly clean, tidy and relatively spacious. The bathroom was large, somewhat minimalistic, but adequate. Good shower though. The guy on reception was very helpful both on check-in and tried to be when I informed him that the in-room internet connection wasn't working. Unfortunately his duty manager, whose responsibility it was to fix the problem, failed miserably to respond to the front desk guy's urging, and it took a strong stance by me to get the problem solved (18 hours or so after I reported it), and even then this was a joint effort by me and the pool lifeguard this jerk of a duty manager sent along to fix the problem. I never got to see the Duty Manager, who was the only member of staff who was well below the standard required. I should also say that the hotel ought to upgrade their broadband service - a download and upload speed of 384kbs is quite pathetic these days.

If it wasn't for the good service from everyone but the Duty Manager, the rating would have been below average (poor).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMStadium, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Many thanks for you feedback, it is gratefully received. I believe since your stay that we have upgraded the broadband to fibre, a new addition to the Aylesbury area, so speed should not now be an issue.

If you can email the Manager directly on bm@stokemandevillestadium.co.uk a full account of your stay to enable us to do a complete investigation into the issues you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Olympic Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

booked a room for three adults but only had 2 beds when we got there so out comes the zed bed no good if your 6'3" tall staff just looked blank also told by night shift that zed bed is only for use up to 16 year olds but still charged for. sub standard service ,bathroom moldy and dated

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colonial_clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMStadium, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Many thanks for your feedback, we are reviewing the mis-communication that appears that you have received, we certainly do not advertise that the 3rd bed is anything else other than a Z-bed, we keep the charges for the Z-bed to reflect this.

If yuo can email bm@stokemandevillestadium.co.uk directly with details of your stay including the team members you spoke to, this will help us to improve the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My stay experience here was the worst I have ever had at a hotel. The management of this establishment should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves.
Both of our rooms were dirty, the toilets soiled and the bin in one bathroom contained used and soiled medical equipment. The beds had hair on the them, and not surprisingly two of my colleagues had to be treated for infections upon their return home, one of which was extremely embarassing and was caused by infected linen or towels.
Our breakfasts hadn't been 'booked' and as there is no on-site facility/restaurant we were left hungry for the day.
The evening receptionist was obviously inspired by Little Britain's 'computer says 'no'' character, unhelpful, rude and truly NOT suited to her position.
To top it all despited promises that our bill would be cancelled and the card re-credited.....our statement arrived with all the charges in place......
It is disgusting....this place claims to be a high standard facility that caters especially for the disabled, people who are often vulnerable to infections.....I wouldn't kennel a dog there....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PestyLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMStadium, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

A full investigation into the complaint has been launched and respectfully we are asking for complainant to contact us directly by emailling bm@stokemandevillestadium.co.uk so that we can contact you to get a complete account of your stay, if any of our team have agreed a refund we will honour that agreement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed at the lodge because we were attending a wedding close by. The walls, kettle, towels and even the room key were dirty. Thank god we only stayed one night, the only redeeming feature was the staff who were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMStadium, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Many thanks for feeding back your experiences with us, we are continuously monitoring our performance and this feedback is vital for us to improve our offer. I can ensure you that your comments have been taken on board and actions have been implemented to prevent similar incidents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Four of us stayed here whilst attending a party in Aylesbury. The rooms were spotless, well appointed and comfortable. The receptionist was very pleasant and went out of his way to be helpful. I would definitely recommend the Olympic Lodge to anyone visiting Aylesbury.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bwgyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

A basic accomodation offering convenient access to the Sports Complex or Hospital

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Needing an inexpensive hotel in Aylesbury I found this gem through one of the search sites. It is part of the Para Olympic complex at Stoke Mandeville Hospital. The rooms were larger than the normal travel hotel and very well equiped, the beds were large and comfortable and the wet room had a heated mirror. Staff were courteous and helpful and we had a good night's stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EABlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aylesbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#11 of 16 in Aylesbury
751 reviews
1.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
195 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
696 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lodge

Address: Guttmann Road | Stoke Mandeville Stadium, Aylesbury HP21 9PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Aylesbury
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When the working day is done, Stoke Mandeville Stadium provides the perfect environment to unwind, where our guests can stay in comfort at low prices and best value. No other hotel in the area can boast a swimming pool, gymnasium and tennis courts all on the same site. Use of the swimming pool & the Health & Fitness Suite is free of charge whilst a resident at the Olympic Lodge Hotel (Terms & Conditions Apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Olympic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing