We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff deserve praise. ”

Brewers Fayre Papermill
Ranked #101 of 219 Restaurants in High Wycombe
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Staff deserve praise. ”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stopping off for breakfast on a bank holiday Monday, we entered a place brimming with people. There were lots like us who were not staying at the hotel, but simply turned up.

There were three visible staff on who were trying their upmost to please everyone. They were polite and more importantly honest with everyone who walked in. There was about a 15 minutes wait for a table, and we were sat in the bar area.

The staff never stopped, refilling the buffet, clearing tables, getting specific requests and 90% of the people there were considerate enough to know they were doing their best. 15 turned up from the hotel at one point who were annoyed not to all be say together, but they didn't reserve either.

Food was good and great value as kids eat free. Would come again, and we'll done to the staff for holding it together.

Helpful?
1 Thank simplemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    101
    72
    71
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Ate here a couple of times while staying at the adjoining Premier Inn. Very pleasant and welcoming staff who genuinly where happy to serve you, food is a bit basic but excellent value for money.
Nice surroundings with a good outside area if the weather allows, the breakfast is supurb and excellent value.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YarcoNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really gone downhill.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Have been a regular over the years and always enjoyed the food. Extremely disappointed today as kids hot dog was so small perfect for a 3 year old not 9? The kids burger was so burnt we had to send it back. My chicken was so hard I needed a steak knife. Salad was 1 piece of lettuce and 1 small tomato. My mum's macaroni cheese was so tasteless it was like it had been boiled in water and that's it. Really disappointing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harminder69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Easy access because it's attached to the Premier inn. Clean & well maintained. Breakfast was nice, good selection of hot & cold buffet. Good opening hours. Nice view from window.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Called whilst staying for a two night trip at the premier inn next door .food was good and arrived quick , we had two issues though , one being that on both occasions the naan breads served with the chicken tikka masala was extremely tough and harder and more rubbery than a shoe sole and secondly that there was not very many chips served with the gammon. Also the first morning we called for our breakfast we were served by a foreign member of staff who we struggled to communicate with, and who became impatient and somewhat rude. On our final night on the premises we arrived just before six o'clock so we could apply for the two main meals for ten pounds offer , the member of staff who was about to direct us to our table told us there would be a half an our wait for us to get a table , so she directed us to a table where we could wait for food and have drinks , the table she directed us to would be fit for dining and you could still order food from it ! Ten minutes into the supposedly half an our wait we were given a table, and ordered our main meals straight away and they arrived within another ten minutes . So we had been given a table and had been given our meals in twenty minutes of the expected half an our for us just to get a table which was really pleasing! And then when some more people arrived just as our meals were being put down on the table , the member of staff greeted the people who has just entered by saying there would be a forty five minute wait which puzzled me a bit ?!.. Also whenever we visit Brewers Fayre restaurant we get the Unlimited soft drinks offer so we ordered four unlimited black currant and lemonades, once we had finished our meal I went up to the bar to get another black currant and lemonade for a member of family ,the manager who served me said he would give me the lemonade but would have to charge me for the small amount of black currant cordial used in the drink even though we had paid for four unlimited black currant and lemonades ! But the manager said we could only get unlimited coke, lemonade ..etc. even though we paid standard price the first time round for the unlimited drinks ! Then when we went to order the deserts off the two for two pounds fifty offer , the same member of staff charged us full price for them , he said to us that we were past the timezone for the offer even though they were with our meals in the same offer ! Eventually this young and over determined member of staff gave up and just let us order the desserts at the discounted prices . Overall the value for money is fantastic and the meals are good just be careful when they give you your receipt as they often charge you full price for meals , also all the young members of staff were extremely helpful and friendly and delivered themselves professionally and were much better than their more higher ranked counterparts .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Epicpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brewers Fayre Papermill also viewed

High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
Flackwell Heath, High Wycombe
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Papermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing