We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a scene from faulty towers!”
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like a scene from faulty towers!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

On arrival the manager was very pleasant. The room was adequate but very cold, I was tired and had had a long day/journey so was looking forward to a nice hot meal followed by a relaxing hot bath, a bit of TV and bed. This is where it started to go wrong.
There is no restaurant at the hotel which the manager did apologise for as it is still listed on last minute.com so had to walk into town (5 mins down a very steep hill, not good in heels!) although there is a choice of takeaway menus behind reception (some of which deliver to the hotel apparently). On arriving back in the room (still very cold) I did turn the thermostat up on the radiator, I noticed the bathroom was very dirty and the ceiling and window covered in mould. The bedroom was dirty and fortunately I didn't see the culprit responsible for all the cobwebs but they wouldn't have been out of place in "I'm a celebrity", so big you could swing from them! The tv only had 2 channels working, bbc1 and bbc2. I did mention to the manager and he did offer to come to my room to retune the tv, which I declined as I just wanted to get to bed. It was late so I decided against a bath. Big mistake!
The bed was comfortable albeit there were hairs on the bed linen (not mine). On waking in the morning I decided to have a shower. NO HOT WATER, only cold!! The towels were threadbare and had holes in them. The blind in the bedroom was frayed.
I wasn't sure whether or not to attempt breakfast as unsure of the cleanliness of the kitchen. I did however venture down to check it out, it was ok to be fair. Choice of hot bacon, mushrooms, beans, scrambled egg, toast, orange juice and cereal, tea or coffee. The decor is tired and dirty and needs updating but the staff were pleasant. On checking out I did mention all of the above to the receptionist and the manager and said I wasn't happy about paying, they basically laughed at me! Pros: free parking, hair dryer, tea/coffee facilities in room.
Cons: dirty, cold, tv not working properly, no hot water, tired.
Would I stay again: definitely not, would I recommend: definitely not.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank M155JAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    58
    44
    16
    22
See reviews for
22
35
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Visited for a one night stay on Saturday. Very convenient for Heathrow. Free parking. Friendly reception staff. Given a triple room for two of us. Beds very comfortable . Good quality linen. Comfy pillows. Tea and coffee facilities in room. Major issue was the cleanliness of the bathroom. Sink and taps spotless good clean towels quality toilet paper. BUT the toilet suffered from long term neglect in terms of a good scrub and the shower also needed attention. Breakfast was good.
The state of the toilet and shower was so obvious it could not be missed by the staff. It seemed such a shame when there were many good qualities to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenx0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The people on reception were perfectly pleasant & the beds were comfortable with good duvets & pillows. Had the bedding been the same level of cleanliness as the bathroom we'd have left straight away!!!
The bathroom was filthy. Pinkish scum all over bathroom & black mildew all over tiles, the bathroom window & such a build up of dirt in the toilet.
We went down to Morrison's to buy 'Mould & mildew' & antibac wipes as we could NOT have showered in there otherwise.
Nowhere to hang anything in bathroom,dirty light switches, in drawers were dirty.
With minimal effort & attention to detail,this could be much better.
It's dated,tired & dirty. No excuse for dirt!!! It was considerably cleaner by the time we left.
Ok so it was a reasonable price but in this current climate isn't it important to ensure a standard is met??
I will never stay here again unless housekeeping staff start to take some pride in what they do!!!!!!
Didn't go for breakfast as it wasn't worth the risk.
As with other reviews about noise,its all true. Peoples TV's & conversations can be heard from your room.
The car park was pitch black at night, full of potholes & little curb appeal. A derelicted building right next door.



  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonmaiden2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these High Wycombe hotels

luton
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had booked a triple room for one night,on arrival the gentleman on reception offered us a triple and a single for the same price,inc breakfast which was very good.
Rooms were clean ,comfortable,clean and comfy beds,soap,shampoo and conditioner in the batroom,tea and coffee in the room also a nice touch mugs instead of little cups.TV was freeview plenty of channels. Close to the high st shops,bars and retaurants.
All in all I would reccomend the Abbey Lodge for it's friendly welcome and great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here the night before picking up my daughter from heathrow airport. Reception was manned which is a plus and receptionist very helpful anfd friendly. Room clean. Breakfast good. Ideal for the town centre. Was very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScunnyBunny1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are checking about this hotel I believe you must have seen the photos of the hotel. So you get what you see in those photos.

Pros: Close to city center (5 min walk), Restaurants near by (KFC, Indian, Pakistani, McDee, Thai etc.), Good for students enrolling for the Bucks University, breakfast included.

Cons: Rooms are too small, space is not enough for one person to freely move. Hard water which makes the coffee machine appear not used for ages. some rooms are not well ventilated, most of the rooms are not dusted for long.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the windows that open. The rooms opening towards the park way are usually large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Yes, get what you pay for is a good assumption, I never had a problem at all with this hotel.

Very close to town which was ideal for our stay, staff were great, rooms were clean and I got a good nights slept there.

Breakfast was fine and a choice of hot and cold food.

Free wi-if was a good bonus too

I'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Wycombe
0.8 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#4 of 14 in High Wycombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
0.9 mi away
Rye Court Hotel
Rye Court Hotel
#7 of 14 in High Wycombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
6.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
1.1 mi away
Clifton Lodge Hotel
Clifton Lodge Hotel
#12 of 14 in High Wycombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Property: Abbey Lodge Hotel
Address: 17 Priory Road, High Wycombe HP13 6SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel High Wycombe
Abbey Lodge Hotel High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing