We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Faulty Towers was a chain...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in High Wycombe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If Faulty Towers was a chain...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I'll begin with the positives: Bed was nice and comfortable, location good for easy access to the town. Unfortunately that's where the positives end.
The negatives: We arrived to discover there was no car park, so had to park in the Eden car park accross the road (to be fair this is stated on the website). Unfortunately parking for the night and the next day cost us about £25, but considering there is no alternative, the car park rates should be on the website imo. The car park is inside a shopping complex, but there are no signs telling you how to get to the hotel (you can't simply cross the street as the hotel entrance is not at road level).When we eventually got to the hotel, walked past the broken vending machine and reached the reception, we mentioned our difficulty finding the entrance to the man on reception. He told us it was easy (without actually giving us any directions!) and gave us our key. Its a good job we weren't carrying much luggage, as the lifts are very much like a matchbox filled with cigarette smoke.

Thankfully, the room itself wasn't too bad. Although the rapidly filling shower tray could be a potential irritation. The lack of bedside tables was also a tad annoying.

By far the worst part of our stay was breakfast the next morning. There were perhaps 10 people in the breakfast room, however there was almost no food available asude from about a spoonful of watery scambled egg, a few baked beans and a pile of sausages that tasted of dettol. More food was brought out, but one item at a time separated by 5 minute intervals. I don't know anyone who eats breakfast one cold, disinfectant flavoured item at a time! This tasty treat was washed down with some watered down apple juice and a cup of coffee from a machine. The absolute irony is that this poor excuse for a breakfast was advertised as all you can eat, at a cost of £7.95. Bargain! When we mentioned this to staff we were told to get up earlier (it was only 9am) or "come back tomorrow and we'll do better". No thanks. We were told that vouchers would be emailed to us, but vouchers for more punishment at a reduced rate is no replacement for competence.

The only reason to make a booking here would be to play a cruel joke on your friends.

Room Tip: To find a good room, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    110
    74
    27
    26
See reviews for
90
105
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A convenient place to stay for shops, restaurants and cinema etc. Staff were pleasant and welcoming and room was extremely clean and well kept, with plenty of room for the two children I was with. Avoid the Eden shopping centre car park if possible as it is £20 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHeckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We checked into this Travelodge for 2 nights while visiting family. We were given a room on the 2nd floor which overlooked the car park. The room was clean, but the bed was very uncomfortable. The shower didn't drain quick enough and by the time both of us had used it the bathroom floor was soaking and it still was the next morning. The toilet also 'ran' all night and I was kept awake with this. On complaining the next day the staff were helpful and said they would have a look at our room when we were out. On returning we were allocated another room still on the 2nd floor but this time level with the dual carriageway, this room also had an extremely uncomfortable bed!
It seems that both the rooms that we were allocated had low beds but people we knew on the 3rd floor had higher beds which were very comfortable. I would not stay at this Travelodge again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarkydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

i only booked into the hotel for an overnight stay but i was very happy with the reception and the cleanliness outside the entrance, the check in time was very quick and efficient, and the lifts were trouble free working ,clean , the room was easy to find and very clean and tidy, its very basic in that you dont get a selection of shampoos and soaps etc but thats an observation not a complaint, bed and towels clean and tidy ,and coffee and tea facillities aswell as the usual tv on the wall, plenty of coat hangers although i only needed 2, room temp was comfortable and hardly noticed the nearby traffic,
the staff were pleasant and friendly and i got the impression nothing would be too much trouble if id asked for assistance on anything, carpets and walls clean and corridors were well lit, and without needing to investigate i clearly knew where the fire exits were as this was made obvious,
i got a good nights sleep (alchohol) induced never heard any other guests ,

the big question is would i stay there again , the answer is def yes , the hotel price does fluctuate but i did get a last min bargain booking very late , convenient for pubs ,restraunts and shopping (eden centre) is litteraly on your doorstep
its a place id recomend to friends and family,

Room Tip: if you def cant bear any noise albeit faint traffic ,ask for this to be taken into account
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I had a refund a few weeks ago for an uncomfortable stay. Now I am happy to say that the refurbished rooms are a big improvement. I used to look around for budget hotels, now I just use Travelodge. Well done

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I am studying at bucks uni and I regularly stay at this hotel whenever I spend my nights at Wycombe. This hotel is very nice and clean. It's not very far from the bus station and right next to the high street so very convenient for me.

The staff are very nice and helpful. Esp, Mark, he is a really nice chap. Will keep on using this hotel for my visits.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear side are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheetal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this travelodge in October 2013 to meet friends. The hotel was an ideal base. I couldn't fault the staff on reception & the room was clean & tidy. The breakfast was good all you can eat. The only downside is car parking as you have to park on the shopping centre across the road and is a bit steep.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Wycombe
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#4 of 15 in High Wycombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
0.2 mi away
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Abbey Lodge Hotel
#10 of 15 in High Wycombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge High Wycombe Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge High Wycombe Central

Property: Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Address: Octagon Parade, High Wycombe HP11 2HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in High Wycombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge High Wycombe Central 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge High Wycombe Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge High Wycombe Central Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing