We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room but poor internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clifton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Reviewed 12 November 2010

I had the executive ensuite room - very new and well laid out. Only poor comment is that the advertised WiFi was almost non existent and the staff were not very helpful with getting a connection. Other service was fine. Only a 20 min walk to West Wycombe village where there are a couple of nice pubs but nothing closer. High Wycombe is not really a place I would choose to stay by choice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie0i0i0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clif1, Owner at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

The FREE internet has been upgraded

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 91 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

When we booked, we were warned that the shower in our room will be small, module type shower. So the size of the room or the tiny shower/WC was not at all a problem.

But when we tried to actually use the shower, we couldn't - the shower head was so clogged with limescale that only one hole actually sprayed! We rang the reception and the response was 'yeah, ok, go and use the communal shower down the hall, we're too busy to sort it out for you'. We tried the communal shower, but the ceiling was mouldy, as was the area around the tap and brown limescale was plastered on the bath tub.

We decided to use the sharp end of my earring to pierce through the holes on the shower head in our room, rather than risk using the communal bathroom. When we rang the reception to tell them, the response was again dismissive and at no point an apology was offered.

we went on to having a lovely evening, as it was our friend's wedding, which was held at the hotel. Unfortunately, when trying to revive ourselves in the morning with a nice cup of coffee, the UHT milk left on the tea tray was sour! The taste certainly jolted us back into awakeness, but we would have prefered a gentler approach. It takes a very long time for UHT milk in a sealed container to go off, so we were wondering when it was last changed...

It is a shame about the muck, dirt and poor attitude of some staff, because otherwise the place was quite nice, and the prices very reasonable. But we will not be recommending this hotel to anyone,

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnysonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I was very pleased when I booked this Hotel: Family room for £79 - not bad. I should not have been so nieve as this Hotel really showed you get what you pay for! The decor was extremely dated, the hotel had a funny old smell, the sheets on the bed were old (but clean), the television wasn't tuned, the bathroom was filthy and the tap had broken, there were cobwebs in the bathroom, hairs around the sink, very cheap toilet tissue and what looked like a blackcurrant stain on the floor. We only stayed for the one night as we were passing through so it wasn't a massive inconvenience but annoying when you're paying good money for something that should have been a higher standard.

We didn't actually see much of the staff, there was an older guy who checked us in, he didn't say that much so I guess you could say that there was no warm welcome. The young girl at breakfast in the morning was responsive enough but not particularly friendly. She took the order promptly but did get it wrong.

To sum up; this hotel is below average. I would have expected to pay less for something so basic and dated. I'm afraid I wouldn't stay here again and unfortunately wouldn't recommend anyone to either.

With some decor improvements, some cleaning staff and warmer smiles this has the potential to be a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights (Fri/Sat) as we were going to a concert at West Wycome Park. We arrived to a very warm wecome from a young woman and were quickly checked in.

We weren't sure what to expect from the room as we noticed on the website they are not all en-suite but the room we were given was lovely. We had a modern bathroom with a shower cubicle and it was very clean and equipped with toiletries. The room was fairly small but perfectly sufficient for it's purpose; crisp white sheets and towels, nice furniture and a large tv. We only paid £55 per night for both of us so we were really pleased with the standard of the room for that.

The breakfast in the conservatory was lovely, freshly cooked to order and brought to the table.

The was only one small thing that we didn't like which was being woken up at 6.15am to a strange, and fairly loud noise from somewhere else in the building. It only went on for a few minutes on both mornings but on a child-free weekend away we were looking forward to a lie in (especially on saturday with a slight hangover!)

There are plenty of nice places to visit nearby too. (And the concert nearby was FANTASTIC!!!!)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Stayed for 1 night and it cost £80 B&B. I was expecting quite a nice place for this price, but it felt like a 1 star property, that was basic in every way. I can't actually believe I paid so much for this place.

It was reasonably clean, but shower was totally rubbish, and the rooms were so tiny, and it really just wasn't a pleasureable stay. Reception staff were also pretty unfriendly.

Would I stay again? NO, Unless it was £30 per night and I was looking for cheap accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HolidaygalEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clif1, owner at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2009

Thankyou for your review.Sorry to hear that you had problems with us.
To let you know. The situation has now changed and the staff are not the same. We have updated many of the rooms and restaurant plus prices are cheaper. kind regards David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Stayed here on business, read a review from another site which
stated reception not welcoming, they were right. However receptionist was also the cook and as I only saw one other member of staff probably the cleaner as well so can see why.

Very expensive room for what was given, hotel needs totally re-modernising but good thing was there was free wireless connection.

Would not stop again, bed and breakfasts offered alot cheaper out of centre so will opt for that option next time.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TamworthTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clif1, Owner at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2009

Thankyou for your review.Sorry to hear that you had problems with us.
To let you know. The situation has now changed and the staff are not the same. We have updated many of the rooms and restaurant plus prices are cheaper. kind regards David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these High Wycombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#5 of 14 in High Wycombe
84 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
1.0 mi away
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
#4 of 14 in High Wycombe
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Abbey Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in High Wycombe
178 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
502 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rye Court Hotel
Rye Court Hotel
#7 of 14 in High Wycombe
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Lodge Hotel

Address: 210 West Wycombe Road, High Wycombe HP12 3AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Price Range: £57 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Clifton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Lodge Hotel High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing