We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different taste”
Review of The Wheel PH

The Wheel PH
Ranked #36 of 221 Restaurants in High Wycombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Wheel is a traditional English Pub that dates back to the Late 1700's. We are situated in the heart of The Chilterns with great walks and very near Hughenden Manor. We are an award winning Real Ale Pub, that also has awards for food. The pub has two great gardens and also has a great smoking area. This traditional pub is dog friendly, muddy boot,family friendly and has great space for all your needs. You can get to us by bus from High Wycombe on the 300 bus route.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A different taste”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

on a visit to Hughenden we were looking for a nice place for lunch. We stumbled upon this place and were far from disappointed. We chose some light choices as we were due to go somewhere for dinner in the evening. I chose a Jacket potato filled with sausage and stilton. I must admit that I chose this because I had never seen the combination before and wow, gorgeous, something that I will do at home . So simple and tasty. Definitely worth the visit aswell for the warm and friendly staff

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    18
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire England
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great village pub with good beer, and good food, and great hosts !”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It is my local pub and what a lovely place it is. Claire and Mark do a fantastic job, helped by their great team of staff. They are great hosts and the beer is always good with 4 real ales all the time as well as beer/cider festivals about twice a year. Nothing is too much trouble and they do a lot for the village as well. The restaurant is relatively small however a lot bigger than it was prior to the extension. In the summer you can take advantage of the extensive front garden and rear terrace.
The chef did a wonderful job on my rather large birthday a couple of years ago when I hired out the whole restaurant.
The best pub in the locality and it has been for many years. Thanks to Claire and Mark.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Szlachcic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Local village pub with good quality food”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Nice friendly pub with good food and selection of real ales.They also offer a gluton free option on a lot of the menu.Even had a pudding the

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank calvin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great beer and welcome”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Always welcomed to the Wheel. Cosy bar area and nice lounge/dining room. Food traditional British Pub with daily specials. choice of 4 real ales ... That always inc local ales.

Welcoming to regulars, occasional visitors, walkers and dogs!

Family favourite

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robertkK4739UX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice cosy friendly pub with good food”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Friendly staff good quality food at a reasonable price.Good portion of food which was well cooked nothing fancy just good old pub grub menu,this pub also boasts a wide range of real ales which they seem to change at regular intervals well done

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calvin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheel PH also viewed

High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
Great Missenden, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Wheel PH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing