We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what is is. £35 a night B&B near London.”
Review of Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmont Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
timmy8oy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It is what is is. £35 a night B&B near London.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Better than expected after reading reviews here. Yes it is all of those things, but actually its really not that bad. Great location, trains do not bother me, other than that, not heard a squeak. Friendly owner, bed is sh1t though, and WiFi would make a big difference.
All clean and tidy, and a tad cold but nothing to write a review over.


None of this really matters as this is the cheapest B&B around, what do you expect? If limescale or dated carpets send you crazy then spend £80 and go to Genericlodge, If you couldnt care less and want a cheap room for the night then here it is. The owner knows it and has plenty of trade seemingly so it makes perfect business sense when you think about it. People that pay £35 to stay here and then complain is just beyond me. Sorry!

That said one night will do me ta, I`m off to the Buckingham tomorrow

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmy8oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I wouldn't want to spend any daylight hours in the room. décor is dated. I don't know when the room was last decorated and they forgot to paint the window frames! Actually they forgot to clean the window frames and windows. I cant imagine when the nets were cleaned! facilities were very basic. Nothing good to say

Room Tip: a quiet street but imagine you can feel the trains passing wherever you sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these High Wycombe hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Had to stay here due to there being nothing else available in the area.
All other reviews about this "hotel" are correct.... Except for the ones who have anything nice to say about it, all I can say is that they would be happy to stay in a dog kennel !!!
Oh, the lady was nice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mikeybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 en route to somewhere else. Last minute booking made night before. Electric wiring not sufficient for using kettle to make tea. Had to move bed to plug kettle in. Bathroom and general decor needs overhauling. No breakfast included and found room rate to be high considering the lack of modern facilities. The only positive is free parking and proximity to train station. Thankfully only booked for 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Ok I booked this place as I'd been let down by onother place and the price of rooms in Reading were just ridiculace.

The rooms are ok, mine deco wise was strange but hey I wasn't buying the place, it was big enough and had a sink in it which was very useful. I also had a big ish tv with free view . My only bug bear was there isn't any WIFI , when I asked why I was told it was because it was and economy hotel, to me this was very short sighted as wifi is a must I it would have resulted in a repeat booking, some places just don't get it :(

Friendly staff though

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrtter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

High Wycombe is a notoriously expensive area to stay. This hotel is cheerful and cheap but it is pretty basic. As long as you are relaxed about that, then this is a good place for a night or two. There is a large car park and the road in front of the house is busy during the day but quiet at night.

The breakfast was good.

It was clean and a little hreadbare but I will be happy to stay there again when I am that way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not right next to the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safetysystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Me and my husband are currently touring and we stop off every night at a different place, we are normally suited by the cheapest and we dont expect much in the way of luxury or frills we asre just looking for a nice, comfortable, clean room to sleep for the night.

Unfortunately this hotel was not that, and after two nights of being in what were much nicer hotels at The Chase and Ibis, this hotel was severely the bottom of the lot. The room was dirty, the whole hotel was freezing and we really didnt sleep too well. Unfortunately I would recommend people avoid this hotel which is a pity because the staff were friendly and courteous and I could not fault them one bit, its just a pity that the hotel is in the shape it is, as the staff are very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Wycombe
0.2 mi away
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
#3 of 14 in High Wycombe
406 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#6 of 14 in High Wycombe
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rye Court Hotel
Rye Court Hotel
#5 of 14 in High Wycombe
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
480 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
749 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Property: Belmont Hotel
Address: 9 and 11 Priory Avenue, High Wycombe HP13 6SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing