We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap - now you know why.”

Abbeyfield Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbeyfield Guest House
Ranked #93 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cheap - now you know why.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Yes, this is a hostel and the room we stayed in was 'okay' but it was absolutely freezing and the shower room was disgusting! Seemed to be a lot of single men staying there. Do not recommend. Smells fusty.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pisces1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    1
    4
    39
See reviews for
8
9
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Really wished i'd done my homework before booking this accomodation. On arrival i met a lovely couple who had also booked into this guest house, but they knew what to expect and brought their own sleeping bags . After giving my £70 to the owner, he presented me with the key to our room. On entering the room we were greeted with the overpowering smell of foist, the sink had brown grim stains inside and my daughter found what looked liked a joint in one of the draws in the bedside cabinet. We spent as little time as we could in this dump and checked out before six in the morning. My advice to anyone looking for accomodation in Cambridge is to do their homework and read reviews. I sometimes doubt reviews and like to tryout places for myself but trust me this place is a dump . Oh! and don't bother dining in as the microwave was absolutly filthy, as were the placemats.
This place made Fawlty Towers look like Ritz...

Room Tip: If ours was to go by there wasn't any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This place claimed to be a guesthouse but felt closer to a doss house. While some effort had been made towards superficial cleanliness, the place had an overall air of neglect, with dust and long time grime, including in the shared bathroom. It smelled badly of damp. The sheets and towels provided were clean, and the house was in a reasonably good location, but there was absolutely nothing else pleasant about the stay. I understand this is a budget property, but it did not meet the most basic requirements for cleanliness or comfort.

I have never bee so happy to get out of a place in my life.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pen357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This has to be the worst "guesthouse" in the country. Surely they have to adere to some regulations?

Where to start? The propietor had a go at us because our flight was delayed and we didn't (ie: couldn't) contact him to let him know. The cleaning man was incredibly rude. The place looked like it was furnished from the house clearances of dead people and had the charm of Royston Vasey (VERY league of gentlemen)

The room we were in had a double bed and a single. The double bed was broken and the most uncomfortable thing to sleep in. I had a better nights sleep when I went camping and slept on the ground. He complained that we left late and was going to charge us an extra day. He should have been refunding us for the insulting and rude behaviour and the broken furniture he expected us to sleep in. We didn't risk using the "kitchen" area. The place was a total dump. He also complained that we used the single bed. NEVER EVER STAY AT THIS DOSS HOLE. SLEEP ON A PARK BENCH IT'LL BE MORE COMFORTABLE

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DublinBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Where to start? This place is vile! We went out for the evening and delayed coming back as late as we possibly could as it was so grim.
The whole place was in need of a thorough deep clean and redecoration...oh and some new fittings and furniture wouldn't go amiss!
We were told that the "Flat screen TV" in our room was not working. On entering the room we discovered a 12" old style TV, on a bracket, approximately 6ft high on the wall with the flex and plug hanging down.The kettle was filthy (lid was all brown instead of white). The sink was grimy, with what was meant to be a cupboard beneath (this was minus the doors, and full of black damp stains!). There was a used bar of soap in the bedside drawer along with an empty tissue packet!!! The skirting boards were thick with dust and grime- in fact the only clean thing in the room was the bedding.
The bathrooms were disgusting- both of them! There was black gunk and general grime in the bottom of the bath, the sinks were grimy to say the least and the hand towel had what looked like black oil someone had wiped onto it. Someone had also scrawled a notice to guests directly onto the wall with marker pen. Even the light switches were dirty in this place. Oh.... and well the shower, I could not bring myself to use it ( as it was over the aforementioned bath!)

Should also say that I am just about to phone the bank after reading the last person`s post!!!

The noise at night was horrendous, with people stomping about, shouting and loud bumps and bangs on the floor above us!

DEFINITELY NOT to be recommended, even to your worst enemy!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My friend and i decided to stay at the abbey field guest house so we could have a nice visit to cambridge city centre during the evening. when we arrived there was no one to greet us i rang the bell many times no one answered the door so we decided to ring the telephone number displayed at the front of the house. i was waiting 40minutes overall for someone to turn up and let us in. when a women arrived she did not speak much english so commuication was difficult. she asked for us to pay in cash which was odd as i filled my bank details online before. we arrived we got told the room number of where we should stay and the women left straight after. we had two single beds one was broken so in the end we had to share one single bed. the toilets didnt flush! Their was one shower in the hole house which was very poor working. the house was not that clean at all.. two baths in the house which were dirty! We paid £60 no breakfast included. poor standards through out deeply dissapointed and would never return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shonaj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I realise that we only paid £22 each to stay at Abbeyfield but I fully believe that wherever you pay to stay you should expect a clean bathroom. I hadnt realised until we arrived that no rooms were unsuite and there were two communal bathrooms. Neither bathroom looked like it has EVER been cleaned. Full of bugs, mould, scum in plug holes, toilets filthy.

The bedrooms had black mould growing up all walls. George was quoted to say 'you have running water in each room' however in one of the rooms the taps didnt even work! The kettle was absolutely disgusting.

The list of rankness is never ending, however the only positive point I can think of is that the beds were clean. Very rickety and super thin mattresses but clean at least.

Would never ever pay to stay at this shocking dump ever again!

DONT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.0 mi away
The Rathmore
The Rathmore
#81 of 122 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The George Inn
#47 of 122 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairways Guest House
Fairways Guest House
#79 of 122 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridge Guest House
Bridge Guest House
#87 of 122 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Your Space Cambridge Apartments Market Rise
0.1 mi away
Homerton House
Homerton House
#29 of 37 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Guest House

Property: Abbeyfield Guest House
Address: 2 Rustat Road, Cambridge CB1 3QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Abbeyfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing