We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great value and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alder Lodge Guest House
Ranked #33 of 126 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Very clean and all necessary facilities.

Good breakfast - cooked and cereal.

Has a single room with no charge of a single supplement! Very unusual - well done, it's very much appreciated by a single traveller.

The owner very kindly upgraded me to a double room with ensuite as the room was free. Very nice thought that you didn't have to do but chose to do anyway so great customer service :)

Very close to town and train station, probably within walking distance (3miles), but easy to catch bus from guest house.

Has wi-fi and tv.

I would still award it 5 stars though, excellent choice and very good price.

Recommend

Thank you

Room Tip: The only thing I would suggest is that if you have trouble sleeping with traffic noise do ask the ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairabelle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed at the Alder Lodge for 2 nights while working in Cambridge. I only booked a single room, but got a double bed, the room was a little small, but ok for one person. The room was at the front of the building and faced the road, which was a little noisy at times. I only had cereal for breakfast, but the cooked breakfasts coming from the kitchen did look nice

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Spent a very comfortable five night stay at Alder Lodge. Friendly owners, lovely comfy bed and great breakfast! Ideally located for all sight-seeing, buses on the doorstep and Park and Ride a few minutes away. Recommend this as very good value for money and as a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Dont be fooled by the pictures, this B&B is a real star. The welcome was warm and inviting and the room and facilities were better than many hotels I've stayed in. Clean, warm, comfortable and quiet.

As I was leaving early they left a packed breakfast for me.

If you dont stay here then you've missed an opportunity to see how good a reasonably priced B&B can be.

Fantastic, will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Stayed at Alder lodge for 2 nights Fri 2nd and Sat rd December in the small single non-ensuite room. No complaints , everything in the room and the breakfast was as it should be .Thank you !

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelfastMadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

A long walk or a taxi ride from town, this well presented b&b is basic but does the job. Cambridge seems expensive in general, so this b&b is actually 'budget'.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j5183v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed here for one night as I had an interview in the Science Park. Only 10 minutes walk away so very convenient. Room was fine - only annoying thing was that the light from the corridor shone into the room above the door.
Quite reasonably priced at £38 for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeynutloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
4.6 mi away
Ayah Villa
Ayah Villa
#2 of 3 in Trumpington
256 reviews
2.3 mi away
A & B Guest House
A & B Guest House
#65 of 126 in Cambridge
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.8 mi away
Silverwood Lodge Guest House
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 37 in Cambridge
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Lodge Guest House

Address: 116 Kings Hedges Road, Cambridge CB4 2PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £40 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alder Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing