We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By the river”

Galleria Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Galleria Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Galleria restaurant in Cambridge has the most brilliant location at the foot of Magdalene Bridge beside the River Cam, just in one of the deepest parts where the punters come unstuck. With a pair of terraces beside the river, diners have a ringside seat not only for the punting circus, but also for the pleasure of one of England’s loveliest views. This three-level continental restaurant is light and airy, romantic and pleasant, with wrought-iron balconies, ferns, French prints, bistro-style seating. Signature dish is poached fillets of monkfish in lemongrass with sweet red chilli cream sauce and tiger prawns with leeks and mushrooms served with rice. The very reasonable wines tend to favour Old World vineyards.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“By the river”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Came here for lunch on bank holiday Monday and it didn't take long after midday for the place to fill up. Sat outside watching the punting, the waiter was helpful in the fact that I wanted something that wasn't really on the menu and they accommodated me. I must say though as it was only two salads we ordered it took a long time for it arrive. Very tasty though and worth the wait, but at £30.50 for two salads and a couple of cups of tea, thought it was on the steep side.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa1976_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    157
    46
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown maryland
1 review
“Amazing experience! Highly recommended”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

2nd time at this restaurant while on business travel and so impressed with the tasty and creative food and service. Sat downstairs by the water. I highly recommend this place to anyone! Can't wait to go back on my next trip to UK

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aida201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible experience - would NOT recommend”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After having chosen this restaurant from some good reviews, we were extremely disappointed and offended by the service and experience we received at Galleria. We arrived after having booked earlier in the week, just before nine and had a choice of tables as the restaurant was not full. We sat down and ordered very quickly, a bottle of wine and 2 mains ( the same, and upon advice of the waitress - the specialty). The wine arrived very quickly and the waitress we had was in such a rush, she almost dropped the bottle when opening it. After 30 minutes, we had not received our food, the waitress came over and said '4-5' minutes. 10 minutes later, she arrived with 4 dry and sad looking bits of bread and a few bits of feta on a plate with an explanation ' to tide us over'. This was at 9.45.....In the meantime a couple who had come in after us were in the middle of their main course, having also had a starter, and the table of 4 behind us, who also arrived after us had just been given their starers. At 9.55 we asked to speak to the manager, who had not come to see us once and explain what had happened. He then proceeded to say that it was because the restaurant was so busy, when in fact half the tables were empty. He was not very apologetic, did not offer us anything, and like the waitress was in a rush and couldn't be bothered to explain what had happened. His only explanation was that the ticket must have got lost and that's what caused the delay. Needless to say we left. I would NOT recommend this restaurant, unfriendly staff and TERRIBLE service. The decor is also dated and cheap looking, toilets dirty and the whole place is a bit 'shabby'. There is a great choice of restaurants just across the road from Galleria.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely evening, enjoyable food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We came here based on other reviews and were not disappointed. It's a very small restaurant but centrally located to other bars which is great. There is plenty of choice and everyone enjoyed what they had - my friend had the duck special and was really bowled over. Everything was reasonably priced, so would eat here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lcatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
443 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“great choice of affordable dishes in a great location in cambridge”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

had to grab a quick dinner before the ballet and decided to check out the menu outside the galleria which I have walked past for the last 10 years. I was spoilt for choice which is unusual for me as a fussy non fat eater so we booked a table. All three of us really enjoyed both our main and desert courses. The staff were attentive and polite and we will definitely be going back again !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galleria Restaurant also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Galleria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing