We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely pub!”
Review of Castle Inn

Castle Inn
Ranked #187 of 693 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely pub!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

great little pub, good food, reasonable prices.... only one downside, the younger bar men were a little rude and arrogant. Other than that really enjoyed the drinks and food here and the atmosphere is great with friends or just a couple!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    50
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good pub for lunch”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

This is usually a v good pub for lunch apart from soft drinks seem a little bit over priced lemonade and orange seems to be more than a pint of beer but i guess it is in pricy cambridge. The last couple of times I have been there the vege burgers have been fried to an inch of there life where the inside of the burger has vanished and your left with the crunchy coating in a bun. The fish finger sandwich or castle burgers are normally good options though. Service is very good and the pub has a nice feel to it but just need more attention to the quality of food. All in all good pub in Cambridge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fraggles1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Good ales, classic roast, one drawback”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We went for a Sunday roast, and found a charming, sprawling building, with a pleasant beer garden out back, full of families. There was an excellent selection of beers and ciders, including a half dozen from Adnam's, of Southwold. The young men who were bringing food to the tables were pleasant and efficient. The roast beef and roast lamb were tender and the vegetables were varied and not overcooked. We shared a delicious treacle sponge with vanilla ice cream. All in all, a classic English Sunday roast, exactly what we went for.
There is only one reason we won't be back often: Inside the pub it was impossible to get away from some annoying music being piped through speakers. Fortunately, it was a lovely day and we could eat in the garden, but we won't be going back unless we can sit outside. Obviously not everyone feels about "background" music the way we do, but it's a big place: The management should think about making one or two rooms music-free. Either that, or turn the music down. Way down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value food in a classic pub”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I use this pub regularly with family (well behaved children welcome here), and always enjoy the home made pub grub and Adnams beers. The burgers are good, but there's always healthy options.

The pub is just outside the centre but a pleasant 5 minute walk down to the riverside. It gets a good mix of customers, students, tourists and locals like us. Food is cheap for Cambridge, beer expensive, but the imported German beers are worth the extra.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just a really nice pub”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Castle Inn is simply one of the best pubs in Cambridge and does some excellent pub food and excellent value for money. A good range of beers as well along with friendly and attentive staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilHoward_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Inn also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing