We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a select group of good Cambridge restaurants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cambridge Chop House

The Cambridge Chop House
Ranked #15 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$35
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of Cambridge, opposite Kings College Chapel, The Cambridge Chop House is a traditional British bar and restaurant that has been popular with locals and visitors from further afield since it opened in 2007. Split over two levels, the ground floor boasts views of Kings College Chapel while the basement is an intimate, atmospheric cellar split into four rooms. The menu offers British classics made from locally sourced ingredients and the two course set lunch and pre-theatre menu is excellent value for money. Popular dishes include Mutton Barnsley chops; whole sea bass with wholegrain mustard sauce; and daily changing sausages made on site. The hearty portions are best served with local ales straight from the cask or wine from an extensive list.
cambridge
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of a select group of good Cambridge restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

As a Cambridge resident it never fails to amaze me that there are so few really good restaurants in town....I am pleased to say that the Chop House is certainly one of them. We decided to give it a try because it is sister to the Tickle Arms (another great restaurant) outside town. Everything was great about it - great service, terrific view across to Kings and wonderful steaks. Tip: try the scrummy home made pork scratchings with a pre-meal pint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark_spu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    420
    121
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massa Fiscaglia, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I spent almost a week in Cambridge and I ate twice in this restaurant because I found it very cool. The steaks are fantastic. The quality of food is high. The service is good and the overall cost is not so huge as one might expect for such a place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch time at the Chop House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Chop house had been recommended from friends as a good place to eat and I have visted the sister restaurants at Hemmingford and Ely. It was a special day as part of a big birthday for my mother. We were seated down stairs and tentatively looked after by three members of staff. My mother is vegetarian which in a 'meat' restaurant was a challenge but she thoroughly enjoyed her meal. Our starters and mains were extremely tasty and well presented. The deserts looked good but sadly the chocolate dish was a little over powering and far too rich. There were families there and a number of fascinating people - well worth going just to people watch. An excellent lunch was had by all. Rather pricey but for a special occasion I would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We've been here before, and also to the sister restaurants around Cambridge, and always had great food, well served.

Hence, last night was unexpected, and a disappointment...

Six of us were seated on a table which should, at best, have taken four.
It took probably 20/30 mins to get any attention whatsoever; the service all night was not good.
Our pre-starter came at the same time as our starter, with no explanation or apology - and the table was so small we actually had to put various plates on the floor...
My 'rare' steak had almost been stewed it had been cooked for so long - well done would have been an understatement.
A pregnant friend's 'well cooked' venison (ordered for obvious reasons) was almost raw.
As the evening went on, the room downstairs became so noisy that it was incredibly difficult to have a conversation.
When the bill arrived, our waiter had scribbled out the printed total (so it was illegible), and hand written the same amount plus 10%. Given the total bill was over £350, we had rather hoped a discretionary service charge would have been just that - clearly not.

The food was not bad, and the evening wasn't a disaster, but very disappointing overall, and let's hope that what was one of Cambridge's best independent restaurants isn't going quickly downhill.


Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GilesDobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bring back the game!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Been going to the Chop House, for many years, and have always been excited by the variety of game dishes available. But the last few visit, I have been disappointed by the lack of imagination. It would be good to see them revert back to their core values. Bring back the game!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterAGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxFreeman, Owner at The Cambridge Chop House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Have no fear! We are changing the menu in 2 weeks and I can assure you there will be game aplenty on it!
Many thanks for the feedback.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cambridge Chop House also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cambridge Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing