We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised and a shame” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprised and a shame”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Bit late writing this review as I stayed here in September. My previous visit had been very good. Usual high standards in terms of cleanliness in rooms. Reception helpful. All went a bit pear shaped at dinner. Bearing in mind this one night England were playing football one person behind the bar was not okay ! She was working like a machine but could not keep up. Then dinner. The restaurant layout reshaped, but not for the better. All dark and on top of other people. Then the wait. The man sitting almost next to be albeit for a screen complained about his wait to be served. Not enough waiting staff, nobody seemed in charge. The meal on the last visit was really very good. This time not. Regardless of the awkward to eat off new style plates, my steak was tough, of questionable weight and apart from chips the meal was cold. I spoke to the waitress who did not charge for some of the meal. It was the first time I have ever done so. Breakfast was no improvement. I came down late but well within service time to be advised I was getting a plated service. The impression given that this was better than serve yourself. It was cold. I suspect it was what was left of the buffet. Not worth the price. Premier inn have done very well from doing the basics really well. I really hope they do not try to mess with this formula. I noticed the menu had expanded for dinner. I do stay at premier still but not at this one. Shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizzy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    539
    150
    44
    30
See reviews for
403
550
58
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I was late arriving after a five hour drive from Manchester. Warm friendly welcome on arrival and asked if I wanted to eat in the resturant which was booked straight away.

I asked for aquiet room which was sorted straight away the good night sleep was explained to me.

The staff were busy but very helpful to everyone.

Great nights sleep late departure allowed me to catch up on my emails.

Definitely stay again

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Room was clean and cosy. Bar service was slow and wifi was even slower. 0.4 on speedtest.Food was very good and restaurant staff were very good. Location is fine. Found that the road to the inn was no fun at around 3.30 pm as it is right next to a school.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe Le Soken, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. Clean, modern & provided exactly what my son (aged 41) & I required, somewhere decent to spend the night in comfort at a very reasonable price. Staff hepful & efficient. Good breakfast. Quick check-in & out. Would recommend very highly. Handy for central Cambs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just off the A14 but in a maze of new housing so you have to "follow your nose". Plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 young children, clean and plenty of tea/coffee/milk available. One of the best breakfasts we've had in a while, unobtrusive but helpful staff. Play park just over the road which was useful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole,UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Typical Premier-inn room - very clean and "just so", but
1) Bed was SO hard (my colleague in another room had same complaint)
2) Wifi is rubbish - barely usable. 30 mins free, but you spend most of that time trying to make it work
3) Lighting in room is dull - I know they have low evergy etc, but I couldn't get decent lighting in the room
4) In a poor Vodaphone 3G area as well.

I know they have their good night gaurantee, but I arrived late and wanted sleep and couldn't be bothered to take the bed issue up with reception.
Hotel is expensive for what it is, so in future if I have to spend that sort of money I will spend a little more and stay at nearby Best Western.

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poole-UK-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Still the best choice in Cambridge. Though outside town the buses into town are convenient and I encountered none of the problems which the previous reviewer had with them. As far as hotel is concerned, it remains clean, comfortable and the staff are all lovely. Not surprised it is No 2 in Cambridge - lots of others in town to choose from but from my experience they tend to be old-fashioned and tired. Dinner in the restaurant is good value and once again breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
2.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
Address: Ring Fort Road, Cambridge CB4 2GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're messing about on the river or serious about your studies, Premier Inn Hotel Cambridge (A14, J32) is in the perfect place to stay. From the colleges to the business parks, you'll find great transport links too. See the Red Arrows take to the wing at Duxford, or run like the wind at the Chariots of Fire race. Let your imagination take flight wandering through the tranquil grounds of Anglesey Abbey, or land on a bargain with some shopping in Cambridge. Then fly back to the hotel for some lovely food and a comfy bed. Directions: From A14 Jct 32: Follow signs for B1049 (Signposted City Centre). At 1st set of traffic lights, turn left onto Kings Hedges Road, then 1st left onto Iceni Way and follow the road to the right. Transport and local information: Cambridge University 2.5 Miles Cambridge Railway Station 4 Miles Cambridge City Airport 4 Miles Wandlebury Country Park 7 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cambridge (a14 j32) Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing