We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit 1st December 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Harleston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Visit 1st December 2013”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A good quality room, but the bed was very hard.
The Dinner on Sunday evening was totally spoilt by very poor staff service.
Breakfast was fine
Despite being close to the A14 the noise level in the room was fine

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 971Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    565
    166
    49
    33
See reviews for
423
581
65
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Booked late as not sure could go so wasn't as cheap as could be and this is a popular hotel so deals go fast! Very handy for transport links via road (car and bus). Ten minutes from central Cambridge via guided bus and two minutes walk from hotel to bus stop. Excellent range of shops and restaurants in Cambridge plus Tourist Information Office easy to find, good range walking tours available. Parking at hotel free and they were not worried we arrived early and left car for day before checking in, nor that it was left for half day after checking out!
Although room was on busy A14 side of hotel no road noise and good nights sleep was had! Room warm and clean, no noise from other Guests despite being full. Staff friendly and helpful, meal deal helps to stretch budget!
Went to see family and go Christmas shopping plus had nice day at Ely Cathedral (20 min car drive, free entry and car parking! Easy to tour on own and notices (in English and Braille) everywhere in Cathedral. Good food in Cathedral restaurant.)
Hotel is in growing residential area so will soon have local shops most likely but presently you will need to drive or take public transport to shops, none in reasonable walking distance. Good running and cycling paths near-by and staff have good local knowledge plus appeared to give good transport link advice to those without a car. Taxis readily available no idea on costs, sorry!
Lovely break thank you Premier Inn Cambridge!

Room Tip: higher numbers are further from lifts, rooms above 3rd floor less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_S187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for one night in the week as was visiting Cambridge and wanted a cheap but decent option. I really don't think you can go wrong with PI's to be honest. This was a new one. Room was big, clean and fine. Not comfiest bed but good enough. Traffic was slightly noisy but not too bad. Not the best one I've stayed in but nice enough and not too far from city and bus stop nearby. If you can get this on a deal then worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crash1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Friendly staff - Cosy room - Good food - Free car park - Ample tourist information and staff knowledgeable of local area
A typical example of Premier - you know the minimum to expect
Worth checking exact location. It is, like many Premier, in residential area so you may not find local facilities within walking range
Road access to and from City Centre straight forward ( or use bus network)

Rooms for disabled visitors good size with well adapted bathroom
You may wish to check evacuation policy of disabled if located on upper floors ( I did and was happy it met our needs)

The elderly or others who feel the cold easily might find the room heating upper limit an issue but it is more than adequate for the young and fit - 18 -25 deg

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beljus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I think the variety of reviews on this hotel are all down to expectations. It is in a new (quiet) estate on the north of Cambridge, right next to the A14 (as is the Holiday Inn across the carriageway which is much more expensive). I booked ahead and got a good price. The room was on the 8th floor overlooking the A14- I am a light sleeper but the road was no problem. Room was what I would expect in a newer PI. The reception staff were very friendly. We didn't eat in as we were there to see friends. It was also great to have plenty of free car parking. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoldlyGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at end of October. On check in we were asked if we wanted to book breakfast, which we did, with no mention of dinner. Went down about 7pm to for dinner, to be told there were no tables until 9.30pm ! We asked if there was anywhere else to eat within walking distance, having driven for over 6 hours and not wanting to get back in the car, to be told that yes, but it was 2 miles away.
The staff on reception were friendly, however the housekeeping staff were very rude. They didnt respond to a "Good Morning" from us, just carried on their conversation in a foreign language and gave us a strange look.
There was a lot of noise within the hotel which didnt help us to have a good nights sleep.The bed was not the best and not having slept well on the first night, on the 2nd night we were awake from 3am, and gave it up as a bad job and left at 4.30am to drive home.
The room was clean and decor was good, but we would have liked to have a towel each instead of sharing !!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teanutSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We cannot understand why this hotel has been so highly rated. The reception staff are not up to the usual standard at Premier Inns but the restaurant staff were very good. We booked a twin room on-line but ended up with a family room (double bed + sofa bed). The location is near a ghastly new residential development and while convenient for the A14 is not very convenient for the city centre.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the bed configuration you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
2.9 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
1,016 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
2.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
Address: Ring Fort Road, Cambridge CB4 2GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're messing about on the river or serious about your studies, Premier Inn Hotel Cambridge (A14, J32) is in the perfect place to stay. From the colleges to the business parks, you'll find great transport links too. See the Red Arrows take to the wing at Duxford, or run like the wind at the Chariots of Fire race. Let your imagination take flight wandering through the tranquil grounds of Anglesey Abbey, or land on a bargain with some shopping in Cambridge. Then fly back to the hotel for some lovely food and a comfy bed. Directions: From A14 Jct 32: Follow signs for B1049 (Signposted City Centre). At 1st set of traffic lights, turn left onto Kings Hedges Road, then 1st left onto Iceni Way and follow the road to the right. Transport and local information: Cambridge University 2.5 Miles Cambridge Railway Station 4 Miles Cambridge City Airport 4 Miles Wandlebury Country Park 7 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cambridge (a14 j32) Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing