We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ok for a one night stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

the hotel is not central, you need a car or travel to town by bus (10 min). the reception staff was very friendly and the room very clean, although a bit smelly. It seemed the window hadn't been opened for a while. apart from the friendly reception staff the hotel manager should remind all other employees of saying hello to guests when walking through the hotel.
one thing that I was quite disappointed with was breakfast. I was rather looking forward to it but the quality was rather mediocre. No fresh joghurt, ham, cheese or fresh bread in sight. Just the usual: baked beans, sausages and eggs, toast and cereal. didn't do much for me especially since they charge additionally over GBP 8 per person. Would not do it again but rather go into town and have breakfast in the sun in a nice cafe somewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    563
    163
    47
    33
See reviews for
421
575
64
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ditchling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We had chosen this hotel for its location and budget nature. We had never stayed at a Premier Inn before. From the outset, the female receptionist was excellent. She suggested changing my father-in-law's room to one near to the lift, as he has mobility problems. This made a great difference to his stay and therefore ours. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious - there was no "budget" feel at all.
The breakfast, on an eat as much as you like buffet style, was very good and the hot food was fresh and tasty and frequently replenished. The hotel was quiet inside, despite being near to the A14. As it was a Saturday, I can't comment about noise from the building work nearby.
Very well done to all staff and the architect. We are staying in two more Premier Inns next month and are now looking forward to those stays.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JohnTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

had a good stay, very clean room, comfy bed, friendly , helpful staff. back again in august, on business. so happy to stay there again, the food is ok, but not the best I have had, but being a chef I am fussy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A fairly new Premier Inn that is failing through (IMHO) bad training of staff who were completely overawed by a busy Sunday night. Reception staff seemed that they just wanted to go home rather than caring for customers.

Total lack of co-ordination between the staff particularly regarding restaurant for Dinner. They apparently had 30 covers to fulfil so couldn't decide whether they need 1 hour or more than 2 hours to clear the backlog .... 30 meals takes 2 hours ???

Of course, in the end when I insisted that our order was taken it took about 20 minutes to serve us - but it was only because of my stubbornness in insisting that I wanted to eat. Really showed that staff weren't trained in planning and, most particularly, in working together.

In the room we tried - and failed - to turn down the heating that was stifling. Staff said that if it wasn't working they'd have it looked at in the morning !!! Only choice was therefore to open the window (thankfully we could) but then we had loud noise all night from the busy A14 that ran very close to our window.

Hopefully this is not an example of over aggressive expansion by Premier Inn. I do stay with them regularly and am normally very satisfied (apart from those awful soap dispensers that rarely work properly) but this hotel seemed totally unorganised making me think that staff training was either non-existent or, at the very least, poor.

I did not invoke the 100% Guarantee as I couldn't be bothered to have to try and get sense out of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Was visiting my daughter who lives in Cambridge so hotel well positioned.. Helpful staff, room and bathroom very clean and bed very comfortable. Air con really easy to operate. Can walk into town, bit of a trek or catch the bus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
239 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On a recent visit to see Jackie's nephew in Cambridge, we decided to stay here as it was only a 10 minute walk away from where he lived.. We stayed for three nights and because we booked well in advance only paid £87 for the total stay.

Our room a double on the first floor was spacious and comfortable, it was quiet and we slept well.

On arrival at reception the staff were helpful supplying us with maps and instructions where to get the bus into Cambridge. They also reserved us a table in the hotel restaurant Thyme.

The meal in the restaurant was better than we expected, I had rump steak and Jackie had Red Thai curry. If you want a nice pub meal the Red Lion in Histon is about a 20 to 30 minute walk away.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and very handy for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed for a Sunday & Monday night to visit Cambridge. Our room overlooked the front onto the local primary school and play areas. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. An excellent shower, tea & coffee with more in reception if needed and an opening window as well as good air con. We caught the bus, which is a frequent service, into Cambridge after a 5 min. walk and had no difficulty catching the return. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but ate both evenings in the restaurant and enjoyed both meals. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
1,000 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
Address: Ring Fort Road, Cambridge CB4 2GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're messing about on the river or serious about your studies, Premier Inn Hotel Cambridge (A14, J32) is in the perfect place to stay. From the colleges to the business parks, you'll find great transport links too. See the Red Arrows take to the wing at Duxford, or run like the wind at the Chariots of Fire race. Let your imagination take flight wandering through the tranquil grounds of Anglesey Abbey, or land on a bargain with some shopping in Cambridge. Then fly back to the hotel for some lovely food and a comfy bed. Directions: From A14 Jct 32: Follow signs for B1049 (Signposted City Centre). At 1st set of traffic lights, turn left onto Kings Hedges Road, then 1st left onto Iceni Way and follow the road to the right. Transport and local information: Cambridge University 2.5 Miles Cambridge Railway Station 4 Miles Cambridge City Airport 4 Miles Wandlebury Country Park 7 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cambridge (a14 j32) Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing