We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely long term stay in Cambridge”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
flowdesig...
flowdesigns
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely long term stay in Cambridge”
Reviewed 30 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and two daughters, ages 13 and 9, recently spent 11 nights in Cambridge at this accommodation. It is very well set up for a family. Matt, the owner/manager, was readily available for any questions we had along the way. The townhome is in a wonderful location... on the outskirts of the downtown base, thus it is an easy walk to all, yet quiet. There is a lovely park 1 1/2 blocks away....again, wonderful for children.

We met some very nice neighbors while there. We also had some fabulous dining experiences.... especially Indian at Maharaja and Cocum, both of which are very close.

We would stay here again in the future.

Thank you Matt!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry098
Roswell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed 30 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I was awarded a fellowship to spend a month in the Electrical Engineering Department at Cambridge University for the entire month of May, 2011. We rented Canterbury Cottage for this four week time period, and we very much enjoyed our stay. The house is very well equipped and bright. Matt Hayes, who owns the property, was very helpful taking care of all our needs and requests. The location worked very well, being a pleasant 10 to 15 minute walk into the center of Cambridge, and only a 5 minute drive to my office in the university. In summary, this was an excellent rental decision for us, and I would highly recommend it for its location, and the overall care that Matt and his wife have taken to provide a first class kitchen, recessed spot lighting, sky-lights, excellent plumbing, central heating, linens, etc. There is even a very nice private garden in the rear with glass doors opening into the kitchen.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y_neferti...
Cambridge
1 review
“Dirty dishes, poor bathroom, which let the place down when I stayed”
Reviewed 16 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010

I stayed in the smaller house on Bermuda Road. It has the potential to be a lovely rental property, if it were not for the following points, which, quite frankly ruined the stay for me.

We arrived to find the kitchen pots and pans to be dirty and greasy and had to basically wash everything. After a long journey, it would have been nice to have some milk or bread, but there was nothing.

The bathroom was a great disappointment. I was looking forward to a soak in the bath after my long flight, but the water was only channelled to come out of the shower attachment, so it was not possible to run a bath. The water pressure in the shower was so low, it took me 20 minutes to have a shower instead of the usual 10. It was difficult to wash all of the shampoo from my hair, the water pressure was so low.

Finally, due to the back door sticking (appears to have warped), access to the back garden was not possible. The door required all a person's strength to open and close; no good for people with bad backs.

On the plus side, the bedrooms and lounge/diner were nicely furnished and were pleasant areas of the house to be in.

But, because of the terrible bathroom facilities and the dirty kitchen utensils, I have to rate this property with only two stars.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2011
We are very disappointed to hear that your stay at Bermuda Cottage was unsatisfactory. In 5 years we have rarely received a bad review so I am shocked by your experience. Please let me deal with each of your comments in turn.

There is no excuse for greasy pots and pans for which I can only apologise but strange given that the kitchen is thoroughly cleaned between bookings. I can only imagine the cleaner must have missed this very important area during the cleaning process prior to your arrival. I am very sorry for that.

We provide coffee, teas, spices, oil, etc but not perishable items unless guests are arriving late. As you know, there are several supermarkets and convenience stores a short walk from the cottage for guests to purchase their supplies. We try to make guests aware of what to expect on arrival by stating clearly on the website what is included and to address concerns such as the location of supermarkets, restaurants, etc, by sending guests a map of the local area when confirming the booking.

I cannot explain why you had low water pressure - again, not something which we have ever had a complaint about - but the bath taps have a diverter valve to change the water from the shower to the bath. By simply pressing down on the chrome ring on the taps the water is diverted from the shower to the bath. I will ensure that this is clearly demonstrated to all future guests during the orientation of the cottage on arrival.

The back door was sticking due to the extreme weather in December which I did explain to you at the time, and I also showed you how to open/close it, but I do accept it was far from ideal - the problem has now been rectified.

We appreciate your alerting us to these issues. If we do not hear from our guests we may never know of any problems. But, since my wife and I live nearby we do encourage guests to come and ask if there are any problems, it is a shame that you didn't. I sincerely hope you would consider staying with us next time you are in Cambridge so we may be able to prove to you that your experience of our cottages was the exception and not the rule.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontnas
Reviewed 16 September 2010 for a stay in April 2009
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: the high standard,
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
V A
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La cuisine très lumineuse ouverte sur le jardin
Liked least: L'absence de lave-vaisselle
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing