We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The ideal family accomodation”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Martin S
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
“The ideal family accomodation”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Short walking distance to Cambridge city centre and a minute walk from convenience shop. Beautifully decorated cottage with everything a family can want for a week-long stay. We stayed as a group of 4 adults and 2-year old child. It was definitely a much better option than a common hotel in Cambridge. Our baby loved the spacious garden and its four-legged visitors too. The area is quiet and neighbours very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anais b
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice calm and cosy cottage: a perfect home from home”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed 5 days in the canterbury cottage with my partner and our parents (5 people). We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to groups or families of that size.
The cottage is well furnished, we had all necessary stuff for cooking, a large table for dinning, and beds were really comfortable.
tThe garden is beautifull and it was really enjoyable to have lunch outside on the garden-table when it was sunny.
The cottage is located in a calm residential street, 5 minutes away by foot from different food stores, and close enough from the city center to do not need a car to visit cambridge.
We spent a great time there. I do not have any bad point to raise for this accomodation and thus greatly recommend it .

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the kitchen and the garden
Liked least: nothing.... if i really had to say something i will say that one of the sofa was not so comfortable
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelipeDom...
Vigo, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for families with children”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 for a stay in August 2012

I stayed at BERMUDA COTTAGE for almost a month (29th July - 25th August 2012). I did not visit Canterbury Cottage. I would recommend Bermuda Cottage for families with children who want to go to Cambridge. It is a much better option than going to a hotel or a bed and breakfast. I do not know if it is warm in winter, but it was great in summer. We were very well treated by the owners before and after arrival. Once we arrived there, everything announced was in the place and the house was very cosy. However, we missed some of the luxury mentioned on the website.

We had immediate feedback from Matt by email, which was very good and reassuring. As soon as they received our payment (bank transfer), they informed us. Once in Cambridge, Matt and Maria were very polite and helpful. Bermuda Cottage was very convenient, just a 15-minute walk away from town. We went with a 3-year old boy and we had plenty of parks to go to, the public library was a 20 to 25-minute walk away from the house. Bermuda road is a very very quiet road, no noise at all, very safe as well, neighbours know each other. Inside BermudaCottage, the dining room is big enough for a kid to play. We had very little rain for some weeks in August so we could enjoy the garden (but before we had to do some cleaning). The Internet connection is fast. I had an ethernet cable so I didn't use the wi-fi connection. The television is new, beds are comfortable and were clean, the bathroom was refurbished (lovely hot water) and the spaces were big enough for us. We rented a bicycle and it was perfect to move around Cambridge.

I would not say Bermuda Cottage is a high quality cottage but medium-high quality cottage. Some things are, some aren't: the doors (kitchen, bathroom, second bedroom) are bad, the chairs used in the dining room are narrow and uncomfortable, the sofa was dirty and it felt much too used and not cared for, the kitchen door wouldn't keep open unless you used a stool, the bathroom rugs weren't a great thing, the old fireplace was adapted and filled with what looked like ugly cement on the floor. As for cleanliness and service: the roof windows (kitchen and second bedroom) were very dirty, the garden had not been cared for or prepared for us, the decoration was “normal” in my opinion (it just filled the blank spaces). We also missed a dishwasher, some bin liners or an apron. Cutlery, crockery and kitchen appliances were simple but useful. The water heater was close to the secondary bedroom, which would become too warm during the day (our kid slept there for an hour in the afternoon). Photos on the internet have not been updated recently.

I just want to repeat my overall impression: I would recommend it for families with children who want to go to Cambridge. It is a much better option than going to a hotel or to a bed and breakfast. However, I would not say Bermuda Cottage is a high quality cottage but a medium-high quality cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2013
Hi Felipe,

I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay at Bermuda Cottage last summer and that you would recommend the cottage to your friends. But let me address the issues that caused you concern.

The cottage is a traditional Victorian cottage built in the late 19th century. Wherever possible, we have tried to retain the cottage’s original character rather than strip out its charm in favour of a soulless modern conversion. The doors in the cottage are the original Victorian pine doors, stripped and renovated. I am not sure what you mean by the doors being bad as they are attractive to look at, open and close without a problem and they are heavy enough to insulate the rooms from sound created elsewhere in the cottage. The downstairs living/dining room used to be two separate rooms each with their own fireplace but with the opening up of the ground floor by the previous owners one of the fireplaces was removed and we have used it to make way for bookshelves. The original concrete hearth was retained, hence its older appearance.

Since the bathroom floor is wooden we provide rugs which are cleaned and aired after each booking to protect the wood from the water of the bath and shower. I appreciate that this is not to your taste.

Regarding the decor being ‘normal’, at risk of appearing bland, we have chosen a simple, unfussy style of decoration. However, each ornament or piece of furniture has been carefully chosen by us to give the cottage character and many of the pieces have a story behind them. We do not wish to furnish our cottages in a generic style but, again, I appreciate this is not to your taste.

I am a keen gardener and I personally tend to the gardens of both cottages before each booking, and especially in summertime. Perhaps the issue here is that the garden at Bermuda Cottage is a woodland garden so it does not take long for leaves to fall, birds to do their business, etc, which make the garden seem unprepared in a short time. I am sorry that you felt it had been overlooked.

You state that the pictures are out-of-date on the website. Indeed, two of the photos of Bermuda Cottage do need updating to reflect changes we have recently made. Firstly, we have changed the dining table to a round table to create more space in the cottage and which is better suited to the wide range of guests that we host. Secondly, we have changed the garden slightly with extra landscaping.

The kitchen is a galley kitchen and so space is limited. We would love to be able to provide a dishwasher as well as a washing machine but we made the choice to provide the latter as we receive many guests who stay for several weeks for whom a washing machine is essential. It is clearly stated on the website that a dishwasher is not present in the cottage.

As for the cleanliness of the skylight windows and the sofa, I can only apologise for this. They are elements of the cleaning procedure we have in place and must have been overlooked. The sofa, however, is in good condition today so I assume you mean that there were crumbs underneath the sofa cushions. I will make sure that this is not overlooked in future.

I hope the issues which you have written about did not impair your enjoyment of the cottage and I hope that you would consider us again should your path lead you back to Cambridge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A charming cottage - the ideal place to stay and enjoy Cambridge”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I booked this cottage for my father and I for a long weekend and would definitely recommend it to anyone else looking for somewhere with charm and character, but which is also convenient to get into Cambridge and comfortable to sit around and relax in. Beautifully but simply decorated, with a delightful garden and helpful hosts a few doors down, Bermuda Road was a great base to explore from as well as being a sanctuary when the rain poured down outside. Very clean, well heated, towels and linen provided, even a PURE digital radio in the kitchen for my radio 3 loving Dad! Parking was a little unpredictable, but we found a space nearby each time, and parking is a problem all over Cambridge. The bus stop into the centre is 5 minutes away, as is a local Co-op, petrol station and an Aldi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage - simple, tasteful, charming.
Liked least: Nothing really, but if pushed I guess parking could have been a little easier.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThanSadet
Majorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“perfect home from home after long journey”
Reviewed 3 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived here exhausted after a long journey. The kitchen was well equipped with all utensils, and pots and pans. This is great as a lot of houses for rent have really badly equipped kitchens, with broken utensils, and alot of things lacking. A baby high chair was provided and baby cot. We spent most of our days out, and coming back each evening was relaxing and pleasant, and we really enjoyed our time here. I would recommend it to anyone with a family, and without a family. It is about a 15 minute walk into the town centre, and just around the corner there is a great park for children. Supermarket also not too far away, and by taxi not too expensive into Cambridge. The owners are easy to deal with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milena d
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Perfect !”
Reviewed 25 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

It is just a perfect place especially for families with children, but I can imagine also for groups (up to 6). We have four children (from 11 to 2 years old) and we stayed two weeks at Canterbury cottage. Very well and stylished furnished, there is all you can need and everything is at the right place and in the best condition. The location of the cottage is very good: near the center: easy to reach on foot or by bike. Perfect for children: there are various play gardens near the cottage and the secluded garden is really useful when you can't bring them out. It is just as beeing at home! And Mary and Matt (the owners) are lovely and helpful people! We hope to come back often!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the big, lighty kitchen !
Liked least: that there are stairs
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaltraudT...
Triesenberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Every year around Easter I stay together with a colleague at Bermuda Cottage for two weeks. We are two teachers who come to Cambridge with students. While the students are staying with host families, we enjoy our stay at Bermuda Cottage. It's just the perfect place to be. The house is very nicely decorated and offers everything one needs when abroad. The location is very close to the city centre. There is also a little garden which we use whenever possible. Matt and Maria Hayes, the owners of the property, live only a few houses away and are very helpful and always there when you need them. Staying at Bermuda Cottage makes you feel like you are at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$252
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing