We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good atmosphere”
Review of The Eagle

The Eagle
Ranked #39 of 700 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and good atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Came back here again this year and it is still a nice pub in the centre of Cambridge, just on a side street. 3 gents, we had canneloni, burger, and fish and chips. All good, reasonably priced, and a few beers. Good atmosphere, busy as ever. Look forward to returning again next summer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadsterrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    733
    247
    87
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with beer and good food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The BBC made-for-TV movie "The Race for the Double Helix" with Jeff Goldblum is one of my favorites, along with being a geneticist, so I had to visit when I was in Cambridge.

The pub has several different rooms and a patio, all with a different feel, and the RAF bar in the back comes with it's own crowd. I would have opted for the patio if it had not been so cold, but it was warm and cozy inside, so it was perfect inside to have a beer and a meal. Not all beer on tap is local, so I would ask if you're not sure. I came several times, and sometimes you could walk right up to the bar and sometimes there was a long line. In either case, there wasn't much of a wait, and I could always find a table.

The food was really good, and the menu changes regularly with the season. I had the bangers and mash, and it was a really delicious and well-composed dish accompanied by winter vegetables. If it were closer to where I was staying I would have come much more often.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank libertina628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adstock, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Rediscover DNA”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The place where Francis Crick interrupted patrons' lunchtime on 28 February 1953 to announce that he and James Watson had "discovered the secret of life" after they had come up with their proposal for the structure of DNA. There is a blue plaque next to the entrance. Not much more is made of it now than a special ale to commemorate the discovery, dubbed "Eagle's DNA". More touristy than science and university now. Need to rethink their roots and get back what makes them famous.

I recommend the so-called RAF bar, at the rear, with graffiti of World War II airmen covering the ceiling and walls.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Mark_B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“OK for a swift half pint”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This famous historical pub is worth popping into to have a look around all its nooks and corners and its RAF Bar with all of its original graffiti on the ceiling. Whole tour groups also pile in and out throughout the day on the tourist trail.
I would recommend a swift half pint here to savour the atmosphere as the food and drink are quite pricey compared to other local Greene King Pubs and pubs in general (paid almost £4 per pint which was just an average beer here and a simple cheese sandwich our friend ordered (2 slices of bread with very a very thin cheese layer) cost way over a fiver. Also had too wait a very long time for the food to arrive (our friends had finished their meal before ours even arrived). A good suggestion would be as many other pubs do is to at least offer a free pint / drink or free side dish with a portion of the menu ..... then its rating would rocket ..... so food for thought here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake-from-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“reasonable food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

good basic food served here and we didn't have to wait too long for it.

vegetarian choices were a bit lacking but I was able to find something on the specials menu.

friendly helpful staff but I have to say, we didn't really need to be asked 1000 times if our food was ok.
having said that, I would rather be asked 1000 times than not at all!

interesting to see the RAF bar with the names on the ceiling - all adds to the history of the place.
the building itself is fabulous but a few too many tables squashed in for comfort. get everything you need before you sit down because you can't get out once you have sat down!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eagle also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing