We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alington House
Nearby Hotels
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
US$145
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
20
16
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
16
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from homestay there againcity centrestayed for two nightsensuiteheating
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Having quickly glanced at the other reviews, I'm quite surprised by the bad ones. My experience of the B&B was that it was clean, friendly and with a perfectly adequate breakfast. I booked the room at the last minute for a spur of the moment trip and it met our needs perfectly. We were directly on the main road but this didn't affect our night's sleep at all, and the bed was very comfortable. It is a good half an hour walk to the town centre, but buses run frequently from just outside. There is also free WiFi throughout the B&B.

From chatting to the owner it appears that they no longer have the Annex, so maybe that has solved some of those problems.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4Cumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Close to the bus stop, free internet, clean room, good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howardmo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Just arrived home having spent two of the worst nights ever in this guest house. We booked the "annex" twin room. Having looked at the photo's on their website I was expecting a bright and airy room with modern facilities. What we actually got was a poky little room in a semi detached house 2 doors down the road from Alington house. If I said the room and it's furnishings were tired I would be complimentary.

Our room fronted a busy main road. Very very noisy. On entering the house the smell of curry permeated the whole building. Our room was next to the kitchen. Although it was 9:30pm, one of the long term residents was cooking curry for a late dinner. He also cooked curry at breakfast time to take to work with him. The kitchen had to be seen to be believed it was so dirty.

Our room hadn't seen a duster for weeks, the spiders and cobwebs were everywhere. The bathroom was just a shower which abutted the toilet, no room for a sink it was so small.

The landlady had a sign in the hall asking guests not to take curries or spicy foods into their rooms or to wipe spicy foods on the towels as it was too hard to wash out!

This is without a doubt the worst place I have EVER stayed in. If there had been other rooms in other hotels available we would have left but it is residential week for students this week and everywhere is full.

Stay here at your own risk.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Annex at any cost.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateEvans22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camlady, Manager at Alington House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

This guest appeared happy when she first arrived, but became extremely angry when she realised the other people in the annexe were Indian and African and demanded a room in the main building. I suggested she find other accommodation, but she had already checked and everywhere was full. Her anger at being, as she described, 'treated like this' was such that she not only posted this review on the site she booked on, but felt compelled to put it here in an effort to cause as much damage as possible. The review not only contains misleading photos, but some that are not even this property, I don't whose garden she was in. She says 'stay at your own risk', I ask you to come and see the reality for yourself. We have had many very positive reviews for the annexe rooms on the same site she booked on .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed for two nights during a weekend, very peaceful and nice. Continental breakfast had lots to choose from, and the coffee was very good - a nice change from all the instant coffee you normally get in the UK.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed at Alington House for three nights while visiting friends in Cambridge and had a very nice stay. The owners were very friendly and the B&B is nice and very family-run - we found it welcoming but not as polished as a very professionally-run place. Our room was nice and bright, it had all the usual amenities, and the bed was very comfortable. Our bathroom was great. The breakfast was continental and included a choice of almost 20 cereals, and as much toast/jam/butter and tea/coffee as we could eat. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews