We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel with exeptional service and amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel with exeptional service and amenities!”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

The Varsity is a stunningly hotel with the rooms decorated and furnished to a very high standard. The rooms have all mod cons including an I-Pod dock and large LCD TV and also provide a selection of free tea and coffee which is a welcome sight after a long days exploration of the beutiful city of Cambridge. The service is above what you would expect and they can not do enough for you to make sure you enjoy your stay with them, offering room service (including wine, breakfast etc) at a very good rate and speedy response. If you venture to the resturant for breakfast it is also very tasty and prepeared fresh for your selection and I would say that a trip to the roof terrace for a drink is not to be missed, offering amazing views across the city and providing a good selection of drinks.

The spa is next door and offers an amazing range of facilities including a gym, jaccuzzi and steam rooms which are available to use as part of your stay. I also chose to have a massage whilst there and it was well worth it! I would also definitaly reccomend checking out the other services available in the spa which range from nail shaping to hair dressing.

Overall I would rate The Varsity as exeptional, well worth the money and a definate highlight of our trip and we shall be coming back very soon!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looloo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,429
    545
    257
    81
    24
See reviews for
310
1,330
80
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed here for one night away from the kids as a break so it was supposed to be a bit special at Easter. The room was small and cramped, and the tea and coffee supplies in the room second rate. The floor to ceiling wndows made it feel like we were staying in a greenhouse on stilts. The breakfast was cold and reached by following an unattractive corridor in the building next door. The parking cost £35! Plus points are proximity to King's and it was clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manxie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

we stayed in a senior fellows suite, which at £325 for one night isn't cheap and so great things should be expected. The room itself was on the 6th floor and the floor to ceiling windows in the bedroom and lounge are fantastic with views to match. The finish and detail are superb but for such a great room the tiny bathroom and small bed are a let down. The biggest let down however is the restaurant associated with the hotel, decent value but poor cooking and breakfast was not up to scratch, with lack of fresh fruit being just one fault. I wouldn't order room service either as it looks like this is taken from the breakfast buffet and then taken outside the hotel back in and to your room. Parking vouchers should also be on offer as there is no parking at the hotel. The roof terrace only opens at 12 midday and so on a glorious Sunday morning we were not able to go up and read the papers? Waste. So all in all the room excluding the bathroom was superb, but the overall package including restaurant and parking does not justify the price. Cambridge itself is delightful

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Hotel is situated in a great location which was easy to find on foot. We wished that we'd used the park and ride when we got the bill of £34 for 24hr hours parking in a nearby carpark.

On arrival a friendly porter showed us to our room despite us not having any bags.

Our graduates double room had a fantastic balcony with outdoor seating and was nicly decorated with everything feeling very new and modern.

The rooftop bar was expensive and had a limited stock of drinks, we were also informed it was not serving food for a couple more weeks (despite it being Easter Weekend) If we had been subject to the usual British rain the bar wouldnt have been very pleasant but sitting in teh sun it was glorious!

Be warned that there is only one lift so if you have limited mobility in the morning when it is being used for service at the same time guests are making their way down to breakfast you may have a wait on your hands.
You have to treck out of the building and enter through next doors spa to get to breakfast which was a basic self serve breakfast but the staff were friendly.

Minor billing issue on leaving (drinks that weren't ours had been charged to the room) but the staff dealt with the situation quickly and effectivly

Cant praise the room highly enough

Room Tip: Rooftop bar in the sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firefairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Having stayed in various hotels and B&Bs in Cambridge over the years and been disappointed with all of them to varying degrees, the Varsity, a new-comer on the scene, came as a very pleasant surprise. My husband and I were entitled to a room upgrade and upon check-in, were offered the choice of a graduates double (their smallest room, I believe) with lovely views over the rooftops of Cambridge, or a larger fellows kings room with no view to speak of. We chose the smaller room. It was a bit of a squeeze, but was clean, new and well-appointed; the bathroom was warm and had mixed taps (not something to be taken for granted in the UK!) and underfloor heating. There was free wifi throughout the hotel. There were large flat-screen tvs in the room and a menu of dvds which could be borrowed from reception. The buffet breakfast was nothing special, but more than adequate. Service was professional and impeccable, with staff going out of their way to be helpful. The duty manager, in particular, asked us on our second evening there if we had been up to the rooftop bar. We had not, and even though it was closed by then, he asked one of his staff to open it for us so that we could have a look. Don't miss it if you stay there - it provides some of the best views of Cambridge. Kudos to the owners and staff for creating this lovely hotel in one of the loveliest cities in the world. I won't be staying anywhere else when I return to Cambridge.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamszee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed at The Varsity for our 2 night stay to Cambridge. Very centrally located. Staff all very smiley & courteous which is always a good start. Hotel room was on 5th floor. Nice modern room with full glass wall with rooftop views. Modern contemporary furnishings & comfy bed. Fabulous roof garden with glass walls giving full panoramic views over the city. Bar there provides early evening drinks. The food was good. No on site restaurant. There is a linked restaurant just round the corner that produces hotel guests with breakfast and also provides food for room service. There is also a spa next to the hotel. We used both the gym facilities and the spa facilities which consisted of a jacuzzi, steam room & sauna (was fine for the short time we had to use it). Staff always very helpful to the point of putting a new ticket on my car in the car park each morning (now thats service). Only negative is there is little atmosphere from having no on site bar or restaurant but GREAT hotel for use of Cambridge amenities

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1GreatKnowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This was our second visit to the Varsity, having enjoyed the first one so much. This time it was even better with the addition of a rooftop garden and a guests' lounge. We had hoped to stay two nights but made a mistake with our online booking and arrived to find that we had not made a reservation.

The staff were fantastic and helped us find another hotel to stay in for the first night, the Varsity being fully booked. We were able to reserve a room for the second night and were given one of the Senior Fellows Rooms which had full length windows on two sides, a terrace with table and chairs, and a magnificent view over the rooftops of Cambridge.

Both rooms we have stayed in were spacious and were furnished to a high standard with great attention to detail. The beds, in particular, are extremely comfortable. The hotel has an adjoining gym, jacuzzi, and sauna which guests can use for free and the restuarant is located in the same building. The breakfasts are marvellous and the best we have ever had at a hotel.

The rooftop garden is a very relaxing place to sit and was a success with our two teenage sons. Sipping gin and tonic on a sunny afternoon, as you enjoy the incredible view of Cambridge, is not to be missed!

Finally, the location is excellent, being in the centre of the town and right next to both the river and many eating and drinking places.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonFuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing