We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Lovely hotel, friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble. It's in a great location, right by the river but only a few minutes from the colleges and centre of town. I would highly recommend to anyone wishing to visit Cambridge and will definitely stay there again when i next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,118 - 2,124 of 2,418 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

Very centrally located, there is no parking. The staff are friendly, helpful and very obliging. The roof terrace bar is a superb feature and worth a look.
The rooms are spacious, clean and very nice, complimentary Elemis toiletries, the down side is that there is no central air conditioning, however there was a large upright fam to cool the room. I have no complaints and have enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gasman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This new hotel is delightfully placed close to the river Cam and about 50yds from a Punt renting point; yet it is also within 400yds. of at least 6 of Cambridge's fine colleges, all of which are worthy of a visit.
The rooms, which vary in size and amenities, are very nicely appointed and the roof terrace bar/ restaurant is to die for if you like looking down 360 degrees, and it isn't raining.
Breakfast is served in a charming nearly detached room and mezzanine and is generous in its breadth of choice and quality. We didn't have time to try the services of the Spa, but it all looked good.
Downside is the parking, but it is in Cambridge! The nearby public car park is expensive and about 150 yds away.
The upside is the kindness of the young staff, from a number of countries, and their determination to to make your stay enjoyable and unproblematic ( Is that a word?)

Room Tip: Pay more - higher floors have larger rooms/ suites, it seems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wickedlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I have stayed in many beautiful places and top hotels around the world and can only say that Cambridge has a heritage and charm hard to match. The hotel only enhanced our stay and gave us such a comfortable base to explore and indeed enjoy.

The hotel was truly excellent. All the staff were just so helpful. We found it was great value for the price - given the usual crazy prices for boutique hotels. We stayed in very palatial trinity room, which could only be described, as magnificent. Over our two-night stay we often found ourselves on the roof terrace enjoying the wonderful views.

The location was just brilliant for most sights around Cambridge and gave us wonderful access to the bars and shops. I would highly recommend this hotel and would like to thank the many reviews on trip advisor, which prompted me to book.

Well done to the team at the Varsity, thank you so much..

Room Tip: 5th floor is the place to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in February whilst househunting in Cambridge after reading the good reviews in Tripadvisor and really enjoyed it. The room was contemporary and comfortable, not the biggest but we weren't expecting that in such a city centre location. We parked in the nearby Castle Hill car park for a very reasonable rate which was handy.
We ate at the hotel restaurant next door which was wonderful too.
The only niggle was that because it was so hot in the room, we kept the window open and were consequently kept awake until the early hours by loud students in the street below.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gimboid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The hotel was fine but we'd expected much more. The central location was great and the roof terrace was stylish. The king room we had on the first night was a bit small and plain with a view of a brick wall but we were moved to a much better room with a balcony for the second night when I asked if another room was available. The worst thing about the stay was the parking - the hotel has no car park and the staff recommended a car park 10 mins walk away which cost £7 a night. However we were also told that we could park in the next street on a single yellow line. Unfortunately I didn't hear the last bit so we got a parking ticket for the half an hour we parked there - such a bad start to our trip! Truly good service would have ensured we understood the parking restrictions but generally the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbi680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed two nights in The Varsity Hotel in Cambridge ón a short holiday. The hotel is situated next to the Cam River and the old bridge. It is very central next to All the sigts and still very quiet. The hotel has 40" tv, dockstation for i-phone, cd-player and have woodflor. The bathroom is modern. The staff is very helpful and the breckfast is good. Everything was so good.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingriddenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £143 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing