We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern,majestic totally marvellous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Recently stayed at this wonderful city central hotel. We had heard about the roof-terrace.It did not disappoint- mavellous majestic views of the ancient colleges. Our room was stunningly furnished with conran style and chic. This is evident all around the hotel with wonderful art,prints and canvasses together with modern furnishings. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,990 - 1,996 of 2,416 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel is beautifully clean and still new-looking. Our room was large, quiet and comfortable; reception was friendly and efficient for both check-in and check-out, and they were happy to store our luggage for the rest of the day before we finally left. There is a guest lounge with books, magazines, games, tea and coffee, and a (locked) mini-bar which Reception will serve from on request. We weren't there long enough to use this fully, nor the gym, but it's a nice touch. We had dinner and drinks in the bar/restaurant (same owners but adjacent building) - food was tasty, cocktails were large and strong! The only downsides were no availability for treatments at the spa, and our room had no view at all (the window looked out onto a blank wall and the rubbish skips).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate24_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I read a glowing review about the hotel in the British Airways magazine whilst travelling to South Africa. My alma mater widely respected for its quality of education is not a town known for its hotels.

Finally a hotel worth it's weight in Gold. The location is faultless along with the staff. My room had all the usual mod cons and nice touches like the Illy Coffee, Magazines and Ipod dock.

The Gym and Spa is superb, lying in the jacuzzi on the river, with a stunning view one couldn't help feeling spoilt.

The rooftop bar, the piece de resistance is magnificent, it's worth going for that alone. I got chatting to some fellow drinkers on their third visit to the hotel and that to me speaks volume in itself.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hn103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Recently spent a night at the Varstiy Hotel & Spa, conveniently located in centre of Cambridge. This is a superb hotel which has been designed with great attention to detail. Our bedroom was spacious with a contemporary feel; beautiful wooden floor, four poster bed, with furnishings of the highest quality. The bathroom again was immaculate and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. We had a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant that overlooks the river Cam, and also had a relaxing time in the hotel spa. Not to be missed is the fabulous roof terrace overlooking the city, where drinks are served in style. The hotel intends to carry out film shows on the terrace in the near future. Overall a great hotel which enhances Cambridge's reputation as a world class destination.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed in the Hotel twice coming on business and both times was great experience, the hotel is maintained at an excellent level, the place has a feel and touch for high class.
Location, Location.. hotel is located right in the city center, the Jim is one of the best I saw in Cambridge hotels. - Superb boutique hotel to return to after full day in the office. Staff are helpful in all ways from a simple good morning to free upgrades if possible.
Been to 4 different hotels in Cambridge - this is ranked number 1. - will surely return

Room Tip: Ask at arrival to upgrade if possible - managers want to give you best experience so will upgrade if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is wonderful and great value for money. Situated very close to local attractions, the staff were very attentive and service was quick. There is a lounge where they serve tea and coffee all day at no extra cost, it's these touches that make a very pleasant stay even better. Decor is divine and breakfast has a good selection.

As it rained for each day of our stay we made use of the spa facilities and no complaints here.

There are two things I would like to point out however:

1) make sure you check the cheapest rate on their website just before you arrive I booked 2 months in advance I checked the rate 1 week before and it had fallen by nearly £50.00 and then I checked again 3 days before and a smaller room was on offer for a further a£50.00 less- there were add on too for this rate late check out and drinks. We stayed in the smallest room rate, graduate, and this is ample the next room offers a larger bed.

2) like other people have commented you have walk out of the hotel to the spa and breakfast, though there was always someone with an umbrella to walk you round. When you read about the history of the hotel and spa you see why they haven't created a walk way through, I think that's fair enough.

These are not complaints just points to note.

I cannot wait to come back to Cambridge and I will definitely come back and stay at the varsity again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCleere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A small boutique hotel in central Cambridge, great for sight seeing. We ate in their restaurant and although it was a bit of a disaster, sent back wine twice as not cold, then brought us the wrong colour, then forgot us completely, the Manager remedied it with a free bottle which was an excellent piece of customer service. Food was really nice but quite expensive for what it was. The hotel itself was nice enough, nice decor but service was a bit hit and miss, we were first given a room overlooking the bins which we asked to move from, we moved higher up which was better but the room not as nice. it would be good if they assigned rooms with views for the higher price and then you knew what you are paying for, as overall it was expensive for B and B for a room without the view.
Staff did not tell us about breakfast, where the spa was or the best and cheapest parking which was a shmae as we had to ask around.
The roof terrace had blankets but no heaters so was chilly, amazing view and teh Manager was great, although a very limited cocktail menu with only 4 choices, I think they are missing a trick here.
Overall it was a nice stay, but mostly due to the Company!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river rather than the bins, as noisy in teh morning. The room 112 ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £144 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing