We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roof party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Roof party”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very helpful and friendly staff that went out of there way to assist us.
Food was top quality and arrived very fast.

Beautiful views from the roof, only thing that could make this better would be a covering to shield you from the rain.

Overall a very good unique spot for Cambridge

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    535
    255
    79
    23
See reviews for
301
1,300
80
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
173 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great location and in easy walking distance to visit the colleges. Spa was excellent, watch people punt past on the river, and the food in the resturant was great in the evening, not as impressed with breakfast.

However, the bar on the roof, by far the best location to see Cambridge.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My boyfriend booked a night in the hotel for a surprise. First impression was great, very central location, room was very nicely turned out. We were intending to use the spa the next day, and very disappointingly, the Jacuzzi was out of order for the entire day! Given there is no swimming pool, the Jacuzzi is clearly the highilight of the spa, so for it to be broken was unnacceptable (with no real apology from the Spa reception). Breakfast was good, but surpisingly, an English Breakfast is complementary whilst there is an extra charge for Eggs Benedict/French Toast etc. I only wanted Eggs, so it seemed a shame to not be able to have Benedict, and order an Full English leaving the sausages/Bacon etc to waste! Newspapers were not complementary either, and the Lounge only stocked the day before's paper. Given the cost of staying in this hotel, you would think the smaller touches would be free.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citygirl993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Great location and in easy walking distance to visit the university. We also ate at their restaurant which was excellent and good service. Beds were extremely comfortable and big. Would definately stay here again. Didn't use the Spa. Breakfast in the room wasn't brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali29HongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Ridiculously easy to find, which always a bonus to start with. Parking isn't great, but you are in Cambridge and it goes with the territory. Staff an absolute joy and really helped us out with where we wanted to go. I'm pretty sure that we didn't have the best room (2/F at the back & no air-con), but it was still completely fine, spacious and well appointed and I have stayed in so much worse. Breakfast was utterly delicious. Don't mess about: have the full English and if you can bag a table overlooking the Cam, so much the better. Lastly, don't miss the roof bar. I might have ordered the most expensive bagel in the world, and briefly got rained on, but it was worth it. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I would guess that the higher you are, the better and anything looking to the south or east will aff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is a relatively new hotel, open I believe only two years or so, in a perfect location to visit the major colleges at Cambridge or to go punting on the Cam. We were visiting our daughter who is doing her graduate work at Cambridge and it is but a short walk to the College and around the corner from the Cam and punting station. Note that Cambridge Colleges are spread over a large area in the town - some at a distance from the Varsity and King's etc. so check the map if you are looking for accommodation near a particular college. We had a fourth floor room with views from an elevated window over the Jesus Green - very lovely view. The room was large by English standards with hardwood style flooring. The elevator is isolated in a central region of the floor plan which also contributes to the quietness of the hotel. There is an open roof-top bar which has spectacular views of the Cambridge skyline. This bar is open to the public and is very popular, so finding a seat on a beautiful day can be a challenge. The maid service is ok, but not at the five star level. Even being there four nights they never figured out that they should be leaving two bath towels rather than one. I am sure they would immediately bring additional towels if requested, but it is this "awareness" of the guests needs that are the hallmark of five star hotels. Towel exchange and service occurs once per day. There is an outstanding breakfast - full buffet and a full English breakfast which is huge - all included in the hotel price. The restaurant for the hotel is around the corner from the hotel entrance (maybe a problem in pouring rain) but it sits above the Cam and there are several window tables that give great views. The spa is ok, but the jacuzzi (featured in the web site photos) is more bubbles than jet, lukewarm and prone to have switch malfunction which necessitates the staff manually turning on the pumps. There is an excellent gym with aerobic and machines on the third floor of the spa - which is entered again from a doorway adjacent to the hotel entrance. It is easy to get there with the provided bath robe, but you do have to go outside. One nice feature of the room - you can order milk and cookies at any time of the day or night and they arrive in only a couple minutes! One of the issues one might notice from the web site is the parking situation. They recommend two different public car parks that are some distance from the hotel. The best is the Castle Car Park - across the Cam and several blocks up the road. This is the "long term" car park. If you have mobile luggage this isn't too bad a walk and if you give them your car keys the hotel staff will manage the payment and display of the parking fiches so you don't have to worry about when and how much to pay etc. There is a small street in front of the hotel that you can use to drop off your luggage before parking the car. We were told there was no valet parking. All in all a very fine hotel. Location is superb. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Really a four star experience.

Room Tip: High floor with view of jesus green is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandmary401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I really enjoyed my stay.
I was there for a while and managed to use the gym. I was really impressed with the well equipped free weights area.
The views from the roof top was the highlight of our stay.
I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magicmike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,715 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing