We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Splendid place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Only stayed one night on business, which was s shame as this is a cracking hotel. The roof top bar/terrace is superb and the night before they used it as a cinema as part of regular showings! A lovely Aveda Spa. I'll be going back for a weekend as they do complimentary walking tours as well. So much thought has gone into this place. Just brilliant. My only gripe...the steakhouse restaurant is a bit too bistro for me but then I was on my own.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    525
    250
    78
    23
See reviews for
292
1,271
79
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Loved stopping at this hotel, great location near town, great views, wonderful helpful staff. The food is Delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xfrozentearzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

A really great place to stay! It's central location is perfect for getting out and about in Cambridge and it's really easy to find. The staff are really friendly and go above and beyond to be helpful. The rooms are gorgeous and I absolutely loved the roof top terrace with views of the city.. I also went to the hotel's restaurant which is fantastic - the food was divine, I only wish I could have eaten it all!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

First impressions of the hotel were good , reservation was dealt with efficiently . We booked two rooms for two nights. When we arrived neither room was ready , we were encouraged to wait in the first floor bar which offered complimentary drinks and newspapers which made up for the slight delay.
After 15 mins or so we were shown to our rooms. Both rooms were clean comfortable with nice touches. The hotel is in a central location on the river .Additional facilities are in keeping. That evening we all had a drink in the bar before heading out to dinner which was also excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appleyard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The location is good, close to several Cambridge colleges as well as to the city center. It can be reached from the railway station by "Citi 1" bus, for 1.5 pounds one way. Breakfast can be chosen, either full-English or continental. Our room was relatively spacious, with a comfortable bath tub. One concern, though, was that the reception had too many staff members to be efficient; so was the breakfast restaurant. This could be increasing the room rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazuo_and_Hiroko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Booked this hotel for a few days away with my wife and we had a great time. Finding the hotel and Castle Street car park is very simple though a couple of tips here. There is only one way to get your car down to the hotel and that is down Magdalene Street. The signage is a little confusing as it implied at least to and old fool like myself that only buses and taxis were able to get down that way. You can in fact get down far enough to access the hotel.
Secondly the hotel receptionist (who was new) didn't make it clear that if you hand your car key's over at to reception that the hotel will take care of parking tickets at the pay and display car parks so my trip up to castle street at 7:30 AM wasn't required and I could have stayed in bed. I only found out from the hotel room directory on day two. Again, not a complaint as I heard another receptionist making this clear to a guest checking in when I was checking out.
Anyway the hotel is a great, hotel staff we're great, special mention to the Italian hotel porter who let me inspect the room and some alternatives to ensure I was happy prior to staying. Polite, professional informative and a nice guy.
Room was very nice clean airy feel, monsoon shower was great (slightly too low but I am 6’ 5”). Chocolates and flowers I'd ordered we're all in place as requested.
Rooms were very clean, the bed very comfy.
Roof top terrace bar is a must see for anybody visiting the city.
Only slight irritation was that half the hotel backs on to the back doors of the quayside restaurants and bars so it could be quite noisy late on with bottle banks being filled from bars etc. Didn't spoil my time but I could imagine that some may find it more annoying than me so ask for a room on the other side of the hotel should you be the inclined to let the little ting get in the way of a good time.

Went to the spa for a massage which was fairly standard fair but then it wasn't rip off price either.

Other than that a solid performance all round.

Room Tip: Don't be scared to ask to see the room first and get a room on the opposite side of the hotel fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiteyditey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Nice hotel with perfect location! I stayed in room nr 415 for a week (business), agree with earlier reviewers that it's noice both from outside (restaurant people throwing bottles) and other rooms (you even hear people sneeze!) Room has flatscreen and ipod speaker etc, both bureau and wardrobe, robes in bathrom etc... but NO minibar (really stupid, the explanation is that they instead want to bring you fresh drinks etc, but I think it's only because they don't want you to bring something own). Roof bar very nice but expensive, and unfortunately weather was really bad (=rain, rain,rain) so just had a quicky once..
Staff VERY nice and helpful and the staff at breakfast was awesome !
Would probably stay at Varsity next time I end up in Cambridge
P.S. Didn't have time to use spa/pool/gym - but it looked quite nice...

Room Tip: not that many rooms have that nice view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing