We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect but close”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Ideally located in the centre of beautiful historic Cambridge, the Varsity is the only boutique hotel in the city. Very nicely furnished and with top floor rooms offering splendid views over the city. The roof top bar is a hot spot attracting both hotel guests and Cambridge residents looking for an exclusive place to celebrate a degree or just enjoy a drink. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and the River Café serves good food and a wonderful English breakfast to get you through the day. The Spa was a disappointment, with smelly steam room, malfunctioning jacuzzi and a sauna that wasn't hot enough. Also the rooms could be better soundproofed, and strangely there are no stores or shades to keep curious looks out so you need to close the curtains for full privacy, which is awkward during daytime. All in all a fine place but definitely overpriced and with some extra work needed.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floor fellows rooms. They're more expensive but the extra room and view over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,956 - 1,962 of 2,491 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

The hotel has so much potential, but desperately lets itself down. Tucked away beside the Cam near Magdalene Bridge, the hotel is centrally located and has a fabulous roof terrace bar with far-reaching views for when the sun is out. Rooms are modern, but vary greatly in size - our shower room was literally too small to stretch your arms out! Major issues with front of house staff - far too inexperienced and desperately lacking in hospitality training. In one instance, our room keys were even given out to the wrong guests, which presented a huge security risk and just isn't acceptable. Varsity feels disjointed (not least because the 'spa' and breakfast are in other buildings). Unlikely to stay again - stay at Hotel du Vin for similar money and a far better experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Modern Boutique hotel, good guest bedrooms, small but well appointed and maintained, great breakfast in bar next door, best asset by far is roof terrace, a cool open space with wonderful city views. Good gym and spa next door. The only real negative point i have to make is staff on front desk could do with some service and hospitality training in my opinion, in experienced rather than rude, sure only a temporary glitch. But think the GM shoud look a the current level of welcome and check out efficiency.
For any future refurbishment: finding a way to better connect the bar / breakfast room and making the lounge into a real bar would make sense.
Overall I would recommend the Varsity, but i feel its a little overpriced for what it offers currently, that said its an expensive city.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank MikeEdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

What a place! It was amazing. I can't recommend this place enough! It was wonderful. The rooftop garden was a brilliant place to hang out and the staff were so friendly! The room itself was wonderful, it really was. The bed was so comfy, the pillows were nice, the bathroom was luxurious.. just everything was brilliant! I

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Only stayed one night on business, which was s shame as this is a cracking hotel. The roof top bar/terrace is superb and the night before they used it as a cinema as part of regular showings! A lovely Aveda Spa. I'll be going back for a weekend as they do complimentary walking tours as well. So much thought has gone into this place. Just brilliant. My only gripe...the steakhouse restaurant is a bit too bistro for me but then I was on my own.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Loved stopping at this hotel, great location near town, great views, wonderful helpful staff. The food is Delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xfrozentearzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

A really great place to stay! It's central location is perfect for getting out and about in Cambridge and it's really easy to find. The staff are really friendly and go above and beyond to be helpful. The rooms are gorgeous and I absolutely loved the roof top terrace with views of the city.. I also went to the hotel's restaurant which is fantastic - the food was divine, I only wish I could have eaten it all!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,914 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cambridge
447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £114 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing