We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Felix(Cambridge)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
US$156
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,571)
Filter reviews
2,571 results
Traveller rating
1,590
593
275
89
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,590
593
275
89
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracevalet parkingfloor to ceiling windowssenior fellowsthe riverilly coffeethe penthouseboutique hotelfifth floormagdalene collegevalet servicelovely hotelhotel guestscooked breakfastlovely roomreception areacentral location
Filter
Updating list...
1,985 - 1,990 of 2,571 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

All our jaws dropped when we entered our 6th floor suite. The views of Cambridge were amazing through the walls of our rooms which were made entirely of glass, and the hotel is located so close to everything you would want to visit. The rooms were extremely comfortable with huge TV's that kept the kids happy and the softest bed linen. The breakfast was a real treat - only decent ingredients were used. The attention to detail was brilliant given that our room had to be adapted to sleep 5 and the service at breakfast was excellent. The roof terrace bar is well worth a visit - there cannot be many outdoor bars in the world located at the same height as the spires of neighbouring stone medieval buildings! All in all I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here at the end of August. We had a kingsize room which faced out onto another building. In the morning all we could hear were the bins and the kitchen staff opposite making noise. No aircon in the room which was horrendous although they did provide us with a fan...not quite what we expected but better than nothing. Staff on reception were friendly and the roof terrace bar is lovely, would definately recommend having a drink there overlooking the city.

I don't think I would stay in the hotel again, the hotel 'bar' is basically a room with locked fridges, although you can phone down to reception and order drinks. Again, not quite what we expected. The 'spa' is a sauna, steam room and a jacuzzi - its very small and if the hotel is busy I cant imagine it being very relaxing.

Parking is an issue, dont even try to park near the hotel - its all residents parking. If you park in the car park recommended on the website make sure you get up early and re pay as the parking attendants are hot on dishing out fines!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 744luluLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Fantastic location - quiet but central. Front desk staff excellent. Doorman was abrupt with two friends meeting us up on the roof terrace but I only ever found him pleasant. Graduate double rooms small but perfectly formed. Impeccably clean and well equipped. Loved the stunning views over sunny Cambridge from my terrace in the morning. Good soundproof, comfy bed, wonderful shower and Elemis miniatures. Roof terrace superb especially this weekend when the weather was 28! Drinks expensive but views amazing. Could do with some gentle music in the background in my opinion. My friends treated me to a Carribbean treatment in the spa as I'm getting married in the Carribbean and it was superb. Jacuzzi looked lovely but it was so hot outside, we didn't make it there. Disappointed not to have vegetarian sausages or similar alternative at breakfast as the meat eaters' plates twice as full as mine. Having said that, breakfast was delicious and still filling. Would highly recommend this hotel and will be coming back again. Thanks for helping to make my hen weekend so memorable :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0SMIC_G1RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

What a location, and beautiful rooms too - our "senior fellows" room was very spacious, lovely bathroom, excellent bed, etc. But service was a little less first-class than it should have been. For example, although a full cooked breakfast is included in the rate, serving staff refused to bring only the eggs made into a plain omelette. Instead, they wanted to charge extra. Even a nice B&B wouldn't try to pull a fast one like that. Wi-fi was OK, but not brilliant (flaky DNS; didn't always play nicely with VPN).

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and you'll get a view over the rooftops - 5th floor would be best, 4th floor was pretty good.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon_King_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed at The Varsity Hotel & Spa on 23.08.2012 - Couldn't fault it. Had an excellent time. Room was amazing, we were automatically upgraded to the Penthouse Suite. Surrounding views of Cambridge were breathtaking. Penthouse Suite was very spacious, elegantly furnished, had air conditioning which was a bonus. Staff were excellent and couldn't have done more to make our stay comfortable. Lovely quality bathroom products, and overall general facilities were first class. Hotel was child friendly and very accommodating. Overall we could not have been more pleased with The Varsity Hotel experience. Thank you to The Varsity Hotel for our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews