We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a Graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stayed for a Graduation”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Lovely hotel.
Booked through booking.com and, like alot of others on here, we were upgraded to Magdelene room - beautiful views, four poster, enormous shower, tea, instant & filter coffee, wonderful bed. Although check in isn't until 3pm, we were able to get in at 1.30pm. Air con was a little disappointing.

Parking near by and hotel renewed parking ticket for us.

Breakfast lovely overlooking river.

Customer service very good. We wanted to look at the view from the roof terrace which wasn't open. One member of staff stopped what he was doing, went down to get the key and show us around. Outstanding views which must be great in the summer.

Definatly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    535
    255
    79
    23
See reviews for
301
1,300
80
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
298 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights on business. The hotel is nicely situated -- close enough to walk to all the restaurants, shops, park, university, etc, but not so close that you are affected by the rowdy crowds that are drawn to Cambridge. Everyone raves about the rooftop bar, but I did not check it out. The breakfast buffet was great. The room itself was very nice. It was quite hot while I was there, but I could easily control the temperature of the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Wonderful hotel placed ideally for all the sights! We drove from London and had parking supplied to us very close by which was ideal. Breakfast is a must in the river bar, fantastic English breakfast which set us up wonderfully for the day.
Will definitely recommend this hotel for all those visiting the area. It's a must!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I went to the Varsity Spa at the weekend with a group of friends to celebrate my birthday. We all choose the "Energising" package which consisted on a facial, massage and an aqua polish. On arrival we were presented with bathrobes, slippers and a bottle of water. Our therapist then came to collect us. The treatments were wonderful. I was so relaxed that I nearly fell asleep! Afterwards, we went to the jacuzzi and sauna to finish off the day. I would definately recommend this spa and I'm looking for another opportunity to go back!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Booked this hotel after lots of research and overall was good,but not 5 star. I was expecting a large luxurious room for the price of £170 we paid, we however were given a small room overlooking the now famous alley of noise, which woke us up early.The double bed seemed very small, the room was very hot despite the air con and there was nowhere to put our toileries in the small bathroom.Tea and coffee making facilities were poor,only two tea bags and one sachet of coffee! Bedroom furniture had seen better days.On the positive side the staff were friendly and location was great as was the breakfast and it was clean. We will not go again.

Room Tip: Don't book room 514,ask for a room that dosn't overlook the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Our second time at this hotel...and this time disappointing!

On arrival our room was not ready ......they were busy with a wedding party.

We were upgraded to a superking room...large modern room with a bathroom to die for. Great, we thought!

Problem? where do you pay 250+ and get a room with no air-conditioning that opens up to an a very, very noisy alley way? Not much sleep that night! Not your usual alley way....very loud banging and emptying of bins containing bottles ...throughout the evening, late at night and early in the morning

I agree that the staff were a little hit and miss in their attitude. It seemed at times that they were more focussed on socialising than attending to guests needs. I rang three times over 4 hours asking for the internet router to be re-booted...seems they were too busy. Eventually walked down stairs to talk to them personally .... in their defence they did offer the use of a ipad if they could not get the internet to work.

Breakfast was nothing to write home about and was surprised I was charged 4 pounds for requesting an expresso.

So....if we were assigned another room not overlooking the alley that had air-con and the internet worked this property would have been be rated higher. A beautiful room and an upgrade is not worth anything if you cannot sleep!

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms that lack air-son and over look the very noisy alley way
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walpolepark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Varsity recently for a quick trip to Cambridge. The hotel is in a great setting next to the river and very close to all the shops, bars and restaurants Cambridge has to offer. The staff at the hotel were really friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us during our stay. Our room was excellent with modern and homely furnishings. I especially liked the ground coffee and caffetiere in the room, makes a welcome change from instant coffee sachets. Parking is a 10 minute walk away in a pay and display car park, but this isn't a problem as the hotel will collect or put another pay and display ticket on your car for you early in the morning if you leave your keys behind reception. The hotel has a great roof terrace bar with excellent views of the city which is worth a visit. Finally, breakfast is in the restaurant next door, and has views over looking the river. We had the English cooked breakfast, which was excellent!

Overall, wonderful stay and would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,715 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing