We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Varsity hotel cambridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Varsity hotel cambridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Excellent location in the heart of the city so easy to walk everywhere.beautifully furnished rooms. Excellent steaks in the restaurant and helpful and friendly staff. There is a small garage available but the staff are more than happy to valet the car and bring to the hotel when you need it! All in all , a lovely hotel with modern decor and wonderful views over the city. If you are looking for a 'boutique hotel' within the city then this is definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: Book one of the suites for a wonderful view of Cambridge and a balcony which would be excellent on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Interiorsqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,347
    525
    250
    78
    23
See reviews for
292
1,271
79
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here as it has been recommended as a good place for couples to stay for an indulgent break in Cambridge. It was great that the stress of parking in Cambridge was solved by the valet parking on arrival allowing us to get on with our break. Our room was a suite on one of the higher floors and the views of Cambridge were absolutely lovely. The room was very tastefully decorated with a very nice 4 poster bed that we were pleased to see when tired later on. If you are going to come here it is worth paying for the best room that you can afford as higher up is clearly better and it is nearer to the roof bar. Everything in our room seemed very well thought out (we took our own toothpaste as I am particular about the brand I use). The restaurant is nearby and is also very good and also gives fabulous views of the river. The staff are excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel also seems to be very family friendly. I am amazed that the owners managed to put together a hotel and spa like this in Cambridge, a city known for being very conservative with regards to planning. It is modern but in keeping with the surroundings in this beautiful city. Our car was promptly delivered on our check-out. This hotel is excellent value for the location and we will happily stay here again and will no doubt splurge on a deluxe room.

Room Tip: 6th floor, or as high as you can afford. The view as the sun rises in Cambridge over the park and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here over the New Year break and although we had a great time, were a little disappointed by the hotel. We had a King room, which was very small and did not have a full length mirror, the bathroom did not have a bathmat, you had to phone for one, nor was there any toothpaste. In order to get to the spa you had to go outside and round the corner, so the only option was to use the communal changing rooms and it closed early, and the restaurant was round the corner too. not good enough for a hotel of this standing! On the plus side , the staff were amazing, they could not have been more helpful and polite, however it did take over an hour for us to get our car back from the valet parking.

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you want space. Restaurant and spa not accessible to wheelchairs as stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Weekend shopping in a lovely city with an overnight stay what appears to be a fantastic hotel - unfortunately this was something of a let down!

Roof terrace - CLOSED
Rooms - we had two rooms and both were so small you couldn't swing a cat!
Restaurant - out the door, round the corner, through the spa and gym and up the stairs! Service in the restaurant was good and friendly but by the time I got there i was soaked to the skin.

I wouldn't pay travel lodge money for this!

Room Tip: Are there any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Great break to do some last minute Christmas shopping and escape the London transport nightmare. Warm welcome from very friendly blonde girl on reception when we arrived, this level of service kept up right to the end. My girlfriend even persuaded me to have a facial in their Spa which was lovely. Went up to the roof briefly to see the view as the weather was a bit windy and wet - well worth it. Decent size room and very comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast in the morning, with good coffee. Will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

You will not go wrong with this hotel. It is perfectly located, the views are grand, the staff are helpful and friendly and display none of that snootiness you might get from grand hotels. I was very happy to have stayed in this hotel and if I ever come to Cambridge again, I'll stay with them again.

Room Tip: I was in Room 612 and the view is marverlous. See picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilbur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

This was our second stay at the The Varsity hotel and after such a wonderful visit last year we were slightly nervous that this stay would disappoint... Needless to say, it didn't. We certainly shouldn't have worried, as the hotel and staff were as delightful as ever.

On checking in, we were upgraded to a Super-King room, number 211, which was beautifully furnished, stylish and had all the mod-cons, including a huge TV, i-pod docking station, AC and floor to ceiling windows! The shower was big enough for a whole football team, with a free standing bath in the middle of the room, a room fit for a king! On top of this, our car was taken to a parking spot away from the hotel (parking can be a problem near the hotel but this is obviously a new service they offer) and returned to us whilst checking out, we had no wait whatsoever.

Not only is this hotel simply stunning but perfectly located. Not sure on the name of the pub, but no more than a 50m away from the hotel, opposite the bridge near the canal - but also worth a visit, with a number of Ale's on tap! Do eat in the hotels restaurant also, River Bar - the Rib Eye Steak was recommended and it was sensational, cooked perfectly!

Great stay and already looking forward to a 2013 visit.

Room Tip: Room number 211 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle_Dibsdall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing