We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Visited Cambridge last week ,we were recommended the hotel by friends who had stayed there on two previous occasions.
Met at the door by a porter and our car was whisked away to be parked. We arrived at midday and the room was not ready so we wandered into the city centre. We returned around 5pm, checked in , our room was perfect.
After relaxing for an hour or so my wife went to do a yoga class and I headed to the gym. The facilities are well above what you would expect.
The hotel recommended La Mimosa for dinner which was also very good.The host being particularly nice.
Breakfast was freshly made with an unlimited buffet we thought the warm croissants were a nice touch. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Go to the roof top garden its amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearsonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,687 - 1,693 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here as a wedding present along with a meal elsewhere. Arrival is a little odd with the receptionists sat at a desk but no chairs for you do the same, standing up to complete forms etc. Love the look of the hotel and the concept, the lounge/bar is a little odd, people were getting very annoyed with all the cabinets being locked (understandable) but then having to ring everytime they wanted a drink as nobody there. Wish it was a little warmer when we stayed, did brave the rooftop bar but not for long as would have been blown off! The room was very nice, but sadly over the area where at around 6/630 am on Sat morning we were woken by the glasses being recycled and then after that stopped the keg delivery so men shouting barrells rolling!! Breakfast was cramped, service slow, not sure why a £5 supplement is necessary for scrambled egg and smoked salmon. All in all fine, not sure would stay again if I was paying!

Room Tip: Not over the service area if you want a lie in past 6am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Got a complimentary upgrade from a Fellow's to Senior Fellow's room, which meant getting floor to ceiling windows and a balcony as well as more space. The room was very comfortable and clean, the bathroom was nicely-designed and fitted, and complimentary access to the neighbouring spa owned by the hotel was appreciated.

The location opposite Magdalene is very central, so this is definitely one of the nicer options for a comfortable stay in the centre of town. The roof terrace was closed during our visit but, when open in warmer weather, offers fantastic views of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in April.Booked the Fellows Room, at £200 a night was expecting good things!We were shown to our room on the first floor,room was ok.Wallpaper a bit marked and ripped,generally clean though. Was surprised to see that next to our room was a 24hour lounge/bar!At 1am we were not so pleased with the lounge/bar being right next to our room when a Hen Party had decided to carry on their celebrating and were laughing and screaming!We waited to see if they would calm down and go to their rooms however they did not so we rung reception where someone came up to speak to them,which he did then joined in with their conversation,making even more noise!Not impressed!We did complain to Reception and they did move us to the 3rd floor-same type of room but quieter.Breakfast was nice however the setting was noisy and cramped! The seats were so close together you would get constantly knocked by waitresses and people going into the buffet!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spanisheyes48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here over Easter weekend as part of my husband's 30th birthday celebrations. The hotel staff were very friendly and polite, with nothing too much trouble. We used the spa, which although small, was well presented and very relaxing. The breakfast was fantastic quality and quantity and the service was very good, teas and coffees refilled without needing to search for waiters.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We came for a one night stay and were very pleased. Service from all involved was excellent at all levels, polite, solicitous and helpful. The room was large, clean, luxurious, and had a gorgeous tub as well as shower. Plenty of room, and windows looking on to side side streets. It snowed during our stay- and was a little cold in the room, but staff were quick to provide a blow heater which did the trick. The rooftop terrace is definitely worth a trip for the stunning views, we couldn't enjoy it much because of the unseasonally cold weather. The hotel is centrally located, and right on the river cam, so perfect walking distance from everything. I enjoyed breakfast too. All in all a nice little trip away, would recommend it.

Room Tip: Book the spa in advance!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovecitybreaksSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel is lovely we liked the boutique style,located right in the thick of the action. Warm and friendly staff , our room did not have views but was more than adequate. The piece de resistance is the amazing roof terrace , which made up for the views which are are truly breathtaking.
Breakfast staff and gym staff always ready to assist , spot on, will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollandH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £141 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing