We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

EXCELLENT

Location

Spa

Restaurant

Service

Roof Terrace

Room

Staff

Less is more. We thought this hotel was great, the spa treatments excellent and will be back very soon. We booked through the reservations department who were really helpful and took care of all our travel arrangements.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelson i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,693 - 1,699 of 2,516 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay on a deal, just a night away!

Beautiful king room with roll top bath, seperate shower and wooden floors.

Soooooo close to the centre and friendly staff! Best hotel in Cambridge!

Great breakfast! No complaints from me!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in room 612 on the top floor, I had booked on line but then phoned having read the reviews to see if we could have the top floor. We were very pleased with the views but were a bit disappointed that we seemed to have sacrificed the superking bed, the four poster bed is solid but fairly stark in design. Check in was very friendly the valet parking worked well and we tried out the roof top terrace which on a beautiful day is a real plus except the drinks were London prices, we were hoping for free snacks having paid £15 for a beer and a glass of wine.
The room itself was fine, lots of furniture, the bathroom was small with a rainshower, had to search for the towels and the hairdryer, hidden in the wardrobe. Not much of a selection of tea and coffee for the room nor many nice touches as I have mentioned all a bit urban and stark. The washroom on the 2nd floor was the only other toilets available if you were on the roof terrace and my husband was confused as to where the mens was, we assumed it was a unisex toilet in the end. The lift flooring seemed to disappear over the weekend leaving a sticky floor so we were not sure what happened there. We really enjoyed our breakfast we had the window seat and the cooked breakfast was excellent, good choice of buffet.
The plus was the location and the staff, the minuses were the cost and not feeling that luxurious, just need to have the attention to detail that has been mentione in other reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor not overlooking the buildings where they empty the bottles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was lucky enough to have the time to spend the afternoon yesterday on the roof terrace!
It's such a vast open space with outstanding views.
I was speaking to one of the staff and they have recently introduced a BBQ menu upstairs.
I had a steak sandwich which was impeccable.
Wonderful service, great attention to details and very attentive and personal staff.
I would highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed over the bank holiday for one night and paid £265 for our room , our room 111 was on the first floor with no view , the room more than made up for it . It was huge with a bathroom bigger than my living room at home , free standing bath and shower that you could live in.
The hotel is in a great location with everything within a stone's throw. We had burgers on the roof garden which were were delicious for lunch, it was packed with people by around 2pm. As we left there was a queue down the street. Breakfast was superb, friendly and unhurried , all you can eat continental and cooked on demand, the staff were particularly nice.
We had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel..

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollingsworthh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We booked just one night here for a friend's party near Cambridge, and were very pleased when we turned up at the hotel, hidden down a narrow side street just a minute from the city centre. Unloading and checking in was assisted by a superbly dapper doorman, complete with Bowler hat, although parking wasn't provided (unless you have a Bentley - I noticed one in the small garage attached to the hotel.)

I parked the car, on the advice of the receptionist, about half a mile away in the free parking zone, thus saving the £18 for the valet parking service, and cycled back to the hotel, where the Bowler hatted gent kindly allowed me to stow it next to the Bentley.

The room was excellent - we paid £185 and got a 5th floor room with a balcony and all the usual mod cons. Interestingly, some friends booked in with us, paid £20 more and got a lower spec. room. Worth checking out before you book in.

The quality of the room and service was what you would expect from a spa hotel in Cambridge, and it was fun having a jacuzzi while watching the passers by outside walking alongside the Cam in the rain.

Breakfast was good, but not great - the bacon was rather hurriedly cooked, leaving it both pink and flabby and slightly burnt at the same time. It sort of summed up the only things that were wrong with the hotel - attention to detail. Without wishing to sound too picky, there were a few little details that would have made the difference, such as laundry bags being left in the public areas all day, staff using the lift almost every time we were in it (sometimes with large laundry trolleys), a cracked sink in our room, flabby bacongate etc.

If they can sort out the little details, it will be worth a 5 not a 4. However, the guy in the bowler hat at the door was definitely worth top marks.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 5th or 6th floor with a balcony - they are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dommer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were very disappointed with this Hotel; all of the staff were friendly and helpful, however for £230 per night this was by NO means a 'luxury' room.
* We were told we had priority check, for 2pm rather than 3pm, but the room was still not ready at 3.30pm
*The bed was a continental size king, so 20 cm smaller than expected.
* Noisy from alley below room
* No biscuits were provided with the tea and coffee making facilities in the room
* The room was of average size and décor; really no more comfortable than a travel lodge or premier inn; no disrespect to either as I have frequently used these hotels when on business and they are always as expected and value for money.
* In order to access the spa and restaurant you have to leave the hotel and walk around the corner, very strange, fine if the sun is shining.
Positives;
Location for exploring Cambridge
staff
roof terrace
Valet parking service

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 37 in Cambridge
1,946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 37 in Cambridge
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 37 in Cambridge
960 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £114 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge
The Varsity Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing