We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This has to be the best place to stay whilst in Cambridge, great location, great service, beautifully decorated rooms and some with magnificent views.
This is the 3rd time we have stayed and haven't been disappointed on any of the trips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebekah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,458 - 1,464 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We booked two rooms at the Varsity and weren't disappointed! We had a lovely stay, staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were gorgeous. We thought the reception area was a bit small and pokey but couldn't fault the friendly welcome. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

The location is superb! The staff cannot do enough for you! It has character, it is friendly, wish I had time to try the spa. There are some lovely restaurants close by . I will recommend this hotel, if you get a chance and the weather is good visit the roof top terrace it is very decadent.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Excellent stay in this hotel. Our room was very clean and spacious. We found the staff very helpful and polite. Enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant. The roof top terrace is amazing with fantastic views over Cambridge. Ideal location to visit Cambridge and no need to drive! Would definitely recommend and plan to stay there again!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank chuffypong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very impressed with the Varsity hotel. Stayed in a beautifully clean room and found the staff very helpful and polite. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant. Location of hotel great for exploring Cambridge and not having to use the car! Would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuffypong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel was great! I took my husband to Cambridge and we stayed at the Varsity Hotel as part of his surprise break. When mentioned to hotel staff that we were there for a celebration, we were upgraded to a larger room, which was a very pleasant surprise. The hotel staff were very polite and accommodating. The room was really nicely decorated, clean and spacious with a 4 poster bed. The bathroom, similarly, was large and clean - perfect! As the hotel is so centrally located, parking is not so easy. We chose to use the hotels valet service, £18, which was convenient.

Breakfast was included with our room and was great, we couldn't have asked for more. The only negative was the spa - very small hot tub/Jacuzzi and small sauna and steam room. I was expecting more extensive facilities. Further, you have to leave the main hotel to get to the spa (not nice walking on the street in your robe!) and breakfast room. This wouldn't however, stop me from booking a room at the Varsity Hotel! I will definitely stay here again, when I next visit Cambridge!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A stay at the Varsity is an experience not to be missed. From your arrival, greeted with a smile by the bowler hatted doorman, to your reluctant departure, the hotel goes out of its way to offer a truly luxurious stay. We found all the staff pleasant and helpful.

We were given room 517, beautifully furnished and equipped, with a balcony, floor to ceiling windows, and stunning views over the rooftops of Cambridge. We thought we had the best views possible, but a visit to the roof top bar capped it. A full 360* panorama, without obstruction, over the whole city.

The hotel's restaurant is the "Riverside", where we ate dinner and breakfast. I've seen some comments that it's a problem that the place can't be accessed without going outside. Personally, I think it's a plus point. Too many hotel restaurants are there to serve their captive guests, and attract little business from non-residents. This often leads to complacency, with poor food and service. By having the restaurant outside the hotel, and competing on equal terms with all the other eateries of Cambridge, it's challenged to keep up its standards. We found it providing good service and excellent dishes.

We didn't have time to use the gym or the spa, but we did take a look round. It all seemed in good order, but I was told that some sort of revamp was due in the next few months to improve the facilities. Next time we visit we'll try it out.

There are no negative points worth a mention. My seven year old daughter's comment "This is the best hotel ever!"

Room Tip: Whatever view you have from your room, visit the roof bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WIKRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £141 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing