We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly situated boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Varsity is so well situated for visiting Cambridge apart from the satnav trying to take you down a street with bollards on it! I telephoned ahead as I was running late & had had a nightmare journey on the motorways & my husband's train was then cancelled, nothing was too much trouble, Reception talked me through the oneway system while I drove, (handsfree) and also notified the restaurant we were late too without making me feel guilty! Such a relief when I arrived & the car was taken off me & I headed to the bar. When my husband did eventually arrive we enjoyed a gin & tonic at the bar with no hassle from the restaurant staff to go to our table. Some friends then joined us & we had a fabulous steak & a very enjoyable relaxed evening. The hotel is so friendly & the reception staff so ffiendly. We would highly recommend this hotel. Shame the weather wasnt nice enough to enjoy the roof terrace which had amazing views over the City!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muscat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,391)
There are newer reviews for The Varsity Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,392 - 1,398 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

The varsity is a lovely small hotel in the centre of Cambridge. Rooms are well equipped and the larger rooms are extremely spacious. We had a beautiful room with large windows giving a view over Cambridge There is a rooftop bar which is strictly for fine weather or the brave hearted otherwise drinks are served on request in the hotel drawing room. Breakfast is served in the adjacent restaurant.
An excellent base for anyone visiting Cambridge.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view over the rooftops of Cambridge are the best . Obviously, also more expensive.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFF29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This has to be the best place to stay whilst in Cambridge, great location, great service, beautifully decorated rooms and some with magnificent views.
This is the 3rd time we have stayed and haven't been disappointed on any of the trips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebekah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We booked two rooms at the Varsity and weren't disappointed! We had a lovely stay, staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were gorgeous. We thought the reception area was a bit small and pokey but couldn't fault the friendly welcome. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

The location is superb! The staff cannot do enough for you! It has character, it is friendly, wish I had time to try the spa. There are some lovely restaurants close by . I will recommend this hotel, if you get a chance and the weather is good visit the roof top terrace it is very decadent.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Excellent stay in this hotel. Our room was very clean and spacious. We found the staff very helpful and polite. Enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant. The roof top terrace is amazing with fantastic views over Cambridge. Ideal location to visit Cambridge and no need to drive! Would definitely recommend and plan to stay there again!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank chuffypong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very impressed with the Varsity hotel. Stayed in a beautifully clean room and found the staff very helpful and polite. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant. Location of hotel great for exploring Cambridge and not having to use the car! Would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuffypong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
915 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £140 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing