We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It is located in the center of Cambridge. The room was nice and comfortable and our room had a great view to the park. Breakfast however was poor for this kind of a hotel. We also had some treatments to the spa which were ok. However the spa room is small and without many facilities.
The hotel restaurant was excellent. Great food by the river

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    543
    255
    80
    24
See reviews for
306
1,321
80
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Augustine Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms were good and so was the breakfast in bed:) Couple of things I didn't like!!! There was no real foyer when checking in but they did have a lounge upstairs which was nice but not useful when waiting to be picked up.... Also you had to leave the hotel and walk outside to the next building to go to the restaurant and as usual it was raining and cold so it was a good alternative to have breakfast delivered. The carpet in the hallways was a bit grubby. All in all I would stay there again staff were pleasant and in a decent location although I could see the people working in the office building next door and they could see me so there was no running around scantly clad...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We staid over for 2 nights during my partners r&r and when we got there we were greeted by friendly staff in the reception. Althought they were friendly we both felt out of place because we are a young couple (22/24). When we arrived we went to our room on the 6th floor (612) the room was beautiful the view was amazing as the window went from ceiling to floor. The only problem with that was at 7am the bins from next door was getting emptied and woke us up and it's sounded like it was right outside our window. Other then that we really enjoyed our stay. The riverside bar is quite pricey but they serve very good food. Hotels location is perfect minutes walk from the center of Cambridge.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with the service on our recent stay, nothing was too much trouble to the staff. The spa was useful on a wet afternoon, and the location of the hotel in the city centre was just what we needed for a short stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andrewtX2609CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I am staying here to celebrate my wife's birthday. The service has been exceptional. We arrived to a warm friendly welcome by the concierge, greeted by reception and presented with a lovely clean, comfortable room with great views of Cambridge.

We pre booked the spa for treatments, I had a sports massage the therapist was excellent her knowledge and technique was really good. My wife had a prenatal 2hour treatment which she loved and would highly recommend.

Back to the room and the room service was also good, polite, timely and very smart well spoken staff.

It's great to see a hotel doing all the basics really well and excelling in all areas. Would certainly recommend as revisit, you really feel valued as a guest in this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alexio26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Spent one night here for a press event, held in the Varsity's conference facilities the following morning. A new building squashed in between older architecture, it makes the best use of the space available and my room, 211, was particularly spacious. It was freezing out but, for once, I was able to meddle with the heat settings and ramp the temperature up to a reasonable degree (I like my warmth). The bed was moderately comfortable but with rather nasty flabby standard hotel pillows, and there was a power socket within reach to charge stuff without having to disconnect any of the room's appliances. But, increasingly, there is an annoying tendency these days to supply extremely dim lighting throughout -- a trend which makes it impossible to read in bed. This hotel's illumination was particularly bad. Opening the curtains in the morning to try and let in some extra light, I was presented with a frosted window which was rather strange and a bit disconcerting. For a modern building, I found the décor in my room rather sad and dated but the bathroom was the epitome of luxury with a free-standing claw-foot bath and a lovely walk-in shower. Even the loo seat lid was fun with the way it gently lowered itself without slamming. The lift was very slow (difficult, I suppose, when there's only one). Breakfast was served next door (in the same room as the bar), which meant dashing out in the pouring rain, down a bit of road, and into another building. One word of warning -- I was a bit disconcerted to find that the valet parking involved driving my car away and depositing it somewhere undisclosed in the centre of Cambridge, and not near the premises. I asked about the insurance aspect to this, but no-one seemed to know the answer -- and no-one less than 30 is covered to drive my vehicle. When the car was returned the following day, outside the hotel was busy with taxis for others in my group, so I was annoyed to discover that it was left in the middle of the road round the corner, unlocked, with the hazard lights flashing. When I queried this, the chap said: "Oh, but there are plenty of security cameras around here." Not impressed … Overall the staff were helpful and friendly and seem to be proficient but, unless they can improve the room lighting and give me a bit more confidence about the car parking, I don't think I'd want to stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 211 was by far the largest on my floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I spent the weekend here with my family and enjoyed the spectacular 6th floor suite (613). Beautiful room with panoramic views and very well appointed. Superb bathroom and great AV. The elevator to the 6th floor was broken and 6 flights is a long climb, so had I been older or invalid that would have been a major problem. But I'm not. The waiters/staff were fantastic and helped us with the luggage and room service with a smile. Not so much the management. The breakfast is served next door in a cafe/restaurant overlooking the river. It is a nice place. In summer I am sure that walking along the river path watching Gondolas is really fun. However the food was very average/stodgy fare and did not really meet the expectations. Overall I would stay again, but for 4 stars or more the management has to try harder. I never expect an Amex surcharge by the way in a hotel that seeks 5 stars and if I have to climb 6 flights of stairs multiple times a weekend at the very least don't charge me for the car park!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,757 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing