We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Cambridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Cambridge”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

First impression was of a fantastic location in the City. The welcome reception was excellent and the interior of the hotel has a great décor and theme. Riverside restaurant excellent and breakfast was top drawer. The gym has excellent facilities for a hotel of this size and wasn't too full at 7-8am

Room Tip: Ask a reception about options, Higher up there are panoramic City views (I was on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanB56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    534
    255
    79
    23
See reviews for
300
1,300
80
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. Staff were superb, very polite and friendly, rooms were new and well kept. Having the spa and restaurant in the building next door was slightly odd but didn't detract from the excellent food, cocktails and massages! As can happen with hotels we were woken up very early by other guests, so we had a terrible nights sleep but this wasnt the fault of the hotel.

The location is perfect for exploring the city.

We will definitely return next time we are in Cambridge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Booked a sunday night stay, can't fault anything, from reception till checkout, room, bed, shower to toiletries - all pure luxury!

Did not have the time to enjoy the gym or spa but will definitely stay again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scottspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Agree with some of the other contributions rooms are a little overpriced. Nice but only good if you get them on a deal. We had a larger room which was fine. Good location but you need to give keys to valet to get car parked and charges are the usual for hotel parking - didn't see them in the breakdown of cost so my fault but something to be aware of when comparing prices. Have to go outside and round the corner for the gym, breakfast and dinner. Not a problem if it isn't raining. Didn't try the spa.

Room Tip: We paid for a larger room through booking.com be be careful as the car parking must be in the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowJellyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Good location but quite an odd hotel. The room wasn't as advertised ( granted, more an issue with booking.com ).

Dinner at the grill next door was okay but £25 for a below average steak and my dinner was lobster Mac and cheese for £18. The lobster was scarce and way over cooked, thrown in with a tin of what tasted like heinze tinned Mac and cheese.

The room we had should have been £380 per night and we paid £189 but in reality, you just pay for the location.

Clean, staff friendly but way over priced.

We both decided that we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

service as always was perfect - the staff is always so friendly. the views from the room are outstanding - it was a shame the weather was so dire and so the balcony couldn't be used. another stay is on the cards very soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RV1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our second time at the hotel. The rooms are great - really nicely furnished and with all the touches you would expect in this price range. Staff are fantastic. The only let down is the lack of sound-proofing between rooms. At these prices you don't want to hear the couple next door arrive back late after a boozy night out. Alas, we did. Not necessarily the best for light sleepers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N00la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing