We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night in Cambridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One night in Cambridge”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed here for one night because we were eating at Midsummer House. The hotel was easy enough to find and offered Valet parking for £18 for 24 hours which is cheap for Cambridge. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and the view over Cambridge is fantastic, we stayed in a Fellows King room which was a good size with a large wardrobe and an Apple Mac to use if you have the time.
The Breakfast was in the adjoining Spa building which is only seconds away from the front of the hotel, breakfast is continental and good, again the staff a breakfast were very friendly.
One tip is too book early, we looked at prices two weeks before we booked, and by the time we booked they only had one room left and suprise suprise the room rate had gone up in the region of £60. So book early.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,367
    531
    252
    78
    23
See reviews for
297
1,286
79
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a short break at the Varsity last week, what a great hotel, very well kept and the staff friendly and polite. Great for a days shopping as very close to the shops. Make sure you try the riverside restaurant, wonderful steaks!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Really well situated close to all the Colleges and shops, yet nice and quiet near the green and the river, a wonderful place to go running. Good service from the very smart gentlemen in the bowler hat to professional check in at the front desk. Nice buffet choice for breakfast and very reasonably priced cooked food that was high quality. Had a wonderful massage in the afternoon of my stay, top marks for quality here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

i was at the varsity last night and had the most amazing time, we had a suite on the top floor that looked over the whole of cambridge which i have to say on a beautiful sunny day was quite breath taking....we had a treatment in the spa which was lovely i even fell asleep which is very unusual for me..... we then booked dinner at there river bar steak house and grill, i had the squid followed by half roast chicken, the chicken was really succulent and juicy and to top it all off i had the bread and butter pudding for dessert and this truely was the best i have ever tasted...
a big thankyou to staff and management for making my boyfriends birthday such a memorable experience will be back soon.
Gemma Ross

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I were visiting our grandchild for the first time at university and wanted a hotel close to his college after checking trip advisor we book the varsity.
At the start there was valet parking is a real plus,The hotel is impressive with great decor
our room was spectacular with 360 panoramic view's of cambridge a beautiful city.
The facilities were excellent,To have a gym of that calibre is very unusual
I relaxed after my workout in the spa bath overlooking the river how cool
We had the pleasure of meeting Angus the head chef (in a kilt)
the food is top notch no nonsense cooking, great dinner superb breakfast
All the staff were friendly and helpful
Thank you varsity

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse suites room 611
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We visited the hotel for a weekend break and were welcomed by doorman in bowler hat which is a great touch. Although there is no parking on site, the hotel has this covered by either undertaking valet parking for you or even placing car park tickets on your vehicle for you each day.

The hotel is based in an ideal location for touring the city center with its universities, market square and shops. The staff are very welcoming and cannot do enough for you, making the stay an enjoyable one.

The quality of the hotel is high, with some nice touches. However, the bedrooms are on the small side for the price you pay, although high in spec. To get your breakfast or access to the leisure center you need to go out the hotel entrance as no access through inter connecting doors is available. The bar is not really a bar as we would call it. It is a nice lounge, with service for drinks gained through calling via the phone in the lounge, although they are expensive even for a hotel.

The breakfast included in the room rate is a continental breakfast, which if you go to with 30 minutes to go before breakfast closes does not have very much choice as it appeared not to be continually replenished.Even when it was the choice was limited with single choices of meats and cheeses. The cooked breakfast was great, although it is charged for and we feel that due to the room rate this should be included within the room rate.

Overall we had a good stay and enjoyed ourselves, just feel is should have been a slightly lower cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kb1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

First impression was of a fantastic location in the City. The welcome reception was excellent and the interior of the hotel has a great décor and theme. Riverside restaurant excellent and breakfast was top drawer. The gym has excellent facilities for a hotel of this size and wasn't too full at 7-8am

Room Tip: Ask a reception about options, Higher up there are panoramic City views (I was on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanB56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing