We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time and Not the Last”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“First Time and Not the Last”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel with a very good location.Unique buildings and amazing view from the roof garden.
Service
Warmly welcomed and smooth, we had travelled from Denver and were appreciative for the early access to the room.
Room
Room was spacious and clean.Wifi was good.
Other amenities
The hotel has a huge gym and spa which was airy and full of light
The roof has a bar which had very scenic views.
The restaurant was well above average.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,439
    545
    257
    81
    24
See reviews for
310
1,337
80
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel is frustrating - it has so many things about it that could make it one of the best but the quality of sleep seriously lets it down. There's loads good:

Location is brilliant for the city centre and touring. The ambience and decoration inside the hotel is great, as is the service offered by the employees. The spa next door is excellent - my wife enjoyed a facial massage which she says is the best she has ever had. The view out of the jacuzzi looks out onto the river, which is great relaxation (ignoring the passersby who look in at you!).

On the slightly negative, the continental buffet breakfast included in the rate us sparse, and the optional extra of eggs (Benedict, scrambled, omelet) is £6.50 pp. The restaurant and spa sit alongside the hotel and you need to leave the hotel and pop next door to access these. The parking is expensive at £19.50/night and access to the hotel is tricky with Cambridge's one way system.

However, the real (and only) big negative is the quality of the sleep. The rooms are tiny and I estimate that the bed that we had was 110cm. I spent the night either pushing my wife off her side of the bed, or falling off my side. The mattress was as hard as nails adding to the discomfort. Such a pity as i could quite easily be marking this as a 5.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazzyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I booked a night as a last minute getaway for me and a friend at the cost of £200.00 for the night!! On arrival there was no parking. Cost an additional £24!! The room was clean but basic, no bath just a Caravan sized bathroom. Floor was not heated as described on their site!! Even if u had the heating on full it was still chilly. To get to the spa u had to go out of the hotel to next door. And the 24 hour lobby bar, was not in the lobby butbon the first floor. It was a room with some sofas, no bar!! If u want a drink u had to ring and they would bring u a drink. All in all for the money I paid I expected a lot more. I have stayed in better holiday inns for less and if I could go back I would have booked to stay there! I have also stayed in some top London hotels for a little more money than I paid here and they were worth every penny. I would visit Cambridge again, but will not be going back to this hotel - complete rip off!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VLG-19-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Bang in the centre of Cambridge, this hotel offers a lot for a boutique place. A huge really well equipped gym, a nice spa, decent restaurant and the best roof top garden you have ever seen (I have spent a lot of time in New York and this puts anything there to shame). Only were just getting it up and running for the summer, but opened it up for hotel guests and wow what a view and place. Worth the trip for this. Other things, reception area small but adequate, staff very friendly and on it, breakfast choice excellent and very good value hot food. Had a great massage on the first day I was there. All in all the place to go in this City

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 recently. Being our anniversary the friendly hotel staff offered us a wonderful upgrade to their penthouse suite and WOW what a room! Four poster, separate living area, wine cooler, proper coffee machine, floor-to-ceiling windows on three sides and terrific balcony area with stunning views across the Cambridge rooftops. My smallest criticism would be that the bathroom was a little small in comparison to the size of the suite but heh, how much time do you spend in the bathroom!?
Attached steakhouse restaurant was great too!
Definitely our number 1 pick for a future, longer visit. Only a very short walk into Cambridge Central.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moriarty221b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at The Varsity Hotel this weekend, our room was spacious, modern with fantastic views! We were lucky enough to encounter the Roof terrace with a glass of wine. I will be visiting again in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia9917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I booked a Saturday night stay, plus dinner in the Riverbar Steakhouse for my son to celebrate his 21st birthday with his girlfriend. I asked the team at the hotel if they could 'look after him' given that it was his 21st.
Helped by the first hot weekend of the year, they had a ball! The room looks awesome in the countless pics they took and it sounds like nothing was too much trouble for the team. They opened up the rooftop terrace specially for them (amazing view of town), delivered milk and cookies on demand, brought breakfast up to enjoy on the balcony of they room and generally spoiled them. They loved the jacuzzi overlooking the river and the steam room and apparently the steak and cocktails in the restaurant were awesome as well. Two very, very happy young adults and one grateful dad. We will be be back!

Room Tip: They were in 517, looked brilliant, with full length sliding doors onto balcony and a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeandjakesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing