We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Felix(Cambridge)
US$168
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
US$195
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ashley Hotel(Cambridge)
US$147
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
US$211
US$168
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$69
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Helen Hotel(Cambridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,548)
Filter reviews
2,548 results
Traveller rating
1,575
586
273
89
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,575
586
273
89
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracevalet parkingfloor to ceiling windowssenior fellowsthe riverilly coffeethe penthouseboutique hotelfifth floormagdalene collegevalet servicelovely hotelhotel guestscooked breakfastlovely roomreception areacentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,358 - 1,363 of 2,548 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Brilliant location, very attentive and happy staff and exceptional room. We arrived early and wasn't expecting our room to be ready but it was which was great as we had the chance to freshen up before heading off. We used the car valet service, the minute we got there the charming doorman was outside ready to take our bags and sorted the car for us. Amazing views from the rooftop terrace bar especially on a nice sunny day. Overall we had a fantastic stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcilvenna383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the varsity hotel & spa as a treat. We were upgraded to the penthouse suite, had a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us which was a nice touch. Great location, the room was spacious, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay special. Service was exceptional and of a very high standard! Views over Cambridge from the Rooftop terrace was fabulous....and you don't need to be a guest at the hotel to visit the roof terrace bar. Breakfast was delicious and delivered to our room on time. Really enjoyable stay, will certainly recommend this hotel and hopefully return soon. Sandy

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My sister and I plus our four boys stayed overnight at the Varsity Spa. Having read great things, we were very underwhelmed by the whole experience. The room were cramped and hot and both rooms had a terrible odour coming from the toilets. The reception was unhelpful and ill-informed in the evening, when we asked about Cambridge at night, yet were very helpful in directing us to the hotel when we could not get their due to road closures, Breakfast was poor and unbelievably, did not include hot chocolate in the B&B price, charging £3.50 a cup. The service in the restaurant was excellent and the cocktails too, but it was very over-priced. We both agreed we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank roy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Apart from the central location, the main reason I booked the Varsity was for the huge floor to ceiling windows with views over Cambridge as shown on the website. In fact the only window in our Superior Double room was about three feet across and frosted three quarters of the way up, so there was no view at all!

The roof terrace was lovely on a sunny day (lift up there is very popular though, so space in one may take a while to arrive), but cooked breakfasts and newspapers are extra, there are no biscuits in the room to go with the tea and coffee making facilities and there is no mini-bar.
WiFi and bottled water in the room was included, but at £265 a night, I really felt it was overpriced for what it was and not at all good value for money.

I guess it’s all about managing expectations – when the price is higher, you expect a little bit more and, above all, I was looking forward to fantastic views. So this just didn’t meet my expectations. Our Room (115) didn’t look anything like the ones on the website. Although the room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, I have stayed in equally good/better hotels that cost a lot less.

When we checked out, I asked the receptionist if she could store our bags at the hotel for a few hours so that we could go for lunch before we caught our coach home. She said yes, but there would be a small charge. When I expressed surprise and asked how much, she laughed and said ha, ha – that was a joke - there wouldn’t be a charge at all! Make of that what you will.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view when you book (if that's what you want) and put it in writing.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SaraP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

£5.95 for a 330ml bottle of London Pride on the Terrace Bar = works out at around £9.50 a pint. More expensive than St Marks Square and the view is nowhere near as good Good points = liked the valet parking and the bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews