We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooftop terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great rooftop terrace”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had a nice quite few drinks with a friend on the rooftop, was quite and great view, even when we got a little chilly (it can be quite windy on top) we were able to endure the cold with some blankets they kindly provided.

Staff are attentive and friendly - and make you want to visit Cambridge more often! :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustydw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    534
    255
    79
    23
See reviews for
300
1,300
80
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We celebrated my wife's 30th surprise birthday and she was so surprise and she loved the Varsity roof terrace and our guest to. I have to say the staff was in top checking on us making sure all our champagne glasses were full at all times. And to finish our evening they had a stunning Masters Penthouse Suite for us to finish our party with style. My wife was so surprise and all our guest loved it. So we have found a new spot to enjoy many family events and catch ups in the stunning roof bar.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estuardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Treated ourselves to a stay here and we were not disappointed. Top class rooms with beautiful bathrooms and comfy beds.

Great breakfast in bed and some delicious champagne cocktails on the roof, which has an amazing view of Cambridge.

The jacuzzi is also fantastic! It's a pricey hotel but there really is nothing to complain about, a top establishment and worth every penny.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lovely rooftop bar at this hotel. I would recommend for the summer to enjoy a drink and look at the view of Cambridge. However even in the night, this is a lovely place to come and socialise with friends or your partner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reusch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at the Varsity with our 2 children and had 2 beautiful rooms - both large, wonderfully appointed, super clean and very quiet. Hotel personnel is extremely kind and attentive to all needs. The restaurants are very good too and have nice views! The hotel is located on a small street very close to town with lots of shops and restaurants. We'd definitely stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Normally I don’t have many true room requirements since most rooms now are non-smoking, preferring to be surprised at my good fortune if something desirable happens. That happened on my previous visit when I booked the Trinity Suite, arguably the best room in the hotel (see photo). On this return trip to the Varsity I was assigned Room 614, and while I knew I could not exceed the quality of the Trinity Suite, this one was a bit disappointing.

Differences between now and my last visit approximately one year ago:
1 - Partition separating the adjoining balconies between the Trinity Suite (613?) and Room 614 (see photo). Previously there were a couple of potted shrubs that were largely ineffective.
2 - There are public restrooms on the 6th floor now. The entrances to the Penthouse Suites were remodeled to accommodate the new restrooms. Room 614 now opens directly onto the hallway at the base of the stairs to the rooftop terrace. Original trepidation was noise from amped up terrace guests would disturb attempts at sleep but this turned out to not be a problem.

Overall value for the room was not there for me on this trip. The suite occupies the entire northeast wing on the sixth floor (see photo) and consists of a bedroom and a lounge/sitting room completely enclosed by floor to ceiling windows. The excellent views are what I would call “Green” views looking out over rooftops surrounded by trees and green grass. The bedroom and lounge are connected by a hallway. The entrance door to the suite opens into this hallway and there is a fire door at the entrance to each room. One of these fire doors would randomly close with a loud thump, usually at around 3:00am. Compared to the other Penthouse suites, which are not actually suites, the bedroom is relatively small and the lounge is not very useful although there is an iMac available for use. The bathroom was particularly tiny, but you did have a great view of the neighbor hood through the plate glass window. You do have access to a small portion of the balcony so that is a positive.

Hotel staff was exceptional professional and friendly. The small reception area, the outside detour to the restaurant and the Continental breakfast does not bother me. Restaurant staff was keen to make sure the charges for the extras were known. High winds from the tail-end of Hurricane Bertha caused a real challenge on the rooftop terrace.

Great location and unique facility still make this hotel a top choice for Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gray492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I knew staying at the Varsity hotel would be special and was very excited with the prospect. But I was blown away when we arrived at our room. We stayed in the Trinity room 613. As soon as you enter your amazed by how much space there is, everything is luxurious and beautifully furnished. The bathroom is spacious too with a huge shower, big bath and lovely products to use. From your gorgeous 4 poster bed you have panoramic views of the city, what a beautiful sight to wake up to. Your balcony is stunning and can see for miles over the roof tops. The staff were friendly, polite & very helpful. Breakfast was very good & arrived quickly once we ordered & you can help yourself to the buffet. We sat upstairs looking over the river, so relaxing .
I would highly recommend this hotel, you will definitely want to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing