We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay in Cambridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed at the Varsity for our wedding anniversary for a weekend getaway. The Hotel had just opened, and we were very impressed with our stay. The staff were all very helpful, the room was large, had a beautiful interior and lovely bathroom, but the highlight was definitely the stunning view of Cambridge, from the enormous window practically taking up the whole of most of the wall. We also loved the roof top terrace. We made use of the spa and had some treatments, and one on the house! Thank you! The location is great, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerSRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
There are newer reviews for The Varsity Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,268 - 2,274 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2011

From the moment we entered, we believed we was in the wrong hotel.
The tour alone was worth a price! I have to mention the Roof Topped Terrace view, which was amazing. Unfortunately due to the weather we were unable to enjoy the whole experience. The room was of a high spec and was very homely.
With the restaurant and gym/spa facilities next door it is a very good get away if you want an all in one package.
All the staff made the experience so worth while we'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Read the reviews, expected much better. Room overlooked building site. No fridge,only one bedside table, no hotel bar. Bathroom looked as if something had been forgotten... walk in shower perhaps. Tiny reception and no parking. Bizarre choice on room service menu.Don't stay here...go to the Felix.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Varity over the New Year. The Check-In team were welcoming and we were swiftly taken to our room; the decor is funky-a sets a nice Boutique style. Our room was nicely appointed and had great views over Cambridge. The centre-piece of the Bathroom was a delightful period bath, and two nice sinks. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good sleep as the location is quiet, and yet a stones throw from St John's College and the historic centre for a nice morning walk. Overall a superb new hotel which Cambridge badly needed.
We dined in the River Bar for the New Year bash-the restaurant team performed miracles bearing in mind that they were fully booked and busy.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eboracum15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed at the Varsity and made full use of its Spa facilities straight away. These were shown to us by Tariq who proved to be one of many very helpful and friendly staff.

The room was very comfortable, including large bed and beautifully appointed bathroom. Furnishings and tv were of very good quality. Lovely Elemis toiletries, soft towels and bathrobes - perfect.

Location was perect for us and right on the river Cam, punting just behind hotel, and next to Jesus Park, 10 mins walk to all main shopping areas.

Our only regret is that we did not try the restaurant for an evening meal, which we heard from other guests was excellent.

We will definately return to this super hotel, and hopefully in the summer its fantastic roof top area will be open.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1962Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I thought that I knew Cambridge well (having lived there before), but staying in this hotel gave me a whole different perspective (which is great as I'm moving back to the town). The room was beautiful (the shower - amazing!) and the view from it was really special. It must have views over Cambridge that you can't get from any other building.
As soon as you arrive the staff are so friendly and welcoming. There is nothing that isn't too much trouble. The restaurant is great, and the spa is fantastic, both the jacuzzi and the restaurant look out over the river. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed in one of the double rooms as part of a rest and relaxation weekend for myself and my girlfriends. The Varsity hotel did not fail to impress from the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and attentive.
We had double rooms that were amazing, very spacious, well appointed with beautiful furniture, the bed has to be one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The other great thing about my stay was the bathroom we had a walk in shower plus a large bath with a constant stream of hot water.
Whilst I was staying at the Varsity hotel I made a trip to the hotel spa where I had a lovely and very reasonably priced massage, there is also a gym with a hot tub which the rest of my party visited.
That evening we eat in the hotel restaurant and the fillet steak was fabulous.
We will be returning, possibly in the summer so that we can take full advantage of the roof terrace - it was a bit cold to eat alfresco this time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BA2009_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
914 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £137 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing