We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Within 24 hours, so good we forgot we had to go home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Within 24 hours, so good we forgot we had to go home”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The fact that we'd left the Hotel behind only really dawned on us as we headed back down the A14 into what other people call "real life". Had it really only been 24 hours that we'd stepped into the Oasis of The Varsity to enjoy a cheeky mid week break from the kids and to celebrate a birthday? In point of fact we were so sad to be leaving behind our beautifully appointed room and the good times which we'd enjoyed in this amazing hotel, that we'd forgotten the name of at least one of our kids, replaced by Tariq, one of the most gracious hosts a guest could hope to meet. His team were so helpful, so aware of what we needed from our stay, that we'd have them all over to us in the summer. You know - to return the favour.

A perfect position in the heart Cambridge with beautiful panoramic views from the 5th floor. The spa facilities are excellent and just when you feel at your healthiest, there's a brilliant cooked breakfast to redress the balance.

Thank you Tariq and friends. We loved it and we'll be back. (My other half is travel journalist but I beat her to it this time!)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WidTheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    543
    255
    80
    24
See reviews for
306
1,321
80
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We were very impressed from the moment we arrived - the staff were very friendly and helpful, the reception and rooms were stylish and comfortable. Breakfast was served in a beautiful bar overlooking the river - very romantic and friendly. The hotel has an excellent location, right in the centre of Cambridge, on the River. We didn't get a chance to use the spa but the selection of treatments available looked very tempting! We can't wait to come back in the summer to try out the Rooftop Terrace Bar!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrawlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed at the Varsity for our wedding anniversary for a weekend getaway. The Hotel had just opened, and we were very impressed with our stay. The staff were all very helpful, the room was large, had a beautiful interior and lovely bathroom, but the highlight was definitely the stunning view of Cambridge, from the enormous window practically taking up the whole of most of the wall. We also loved the roof top terrace. We made use of the spa and had some treatments, and one on the house! Thank you! The location is great, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerSRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2011

From the moment we entered, we believed we was in the wrong hotel.
The tour alone was worth a price! I have to mention the Roof Topped Terrace view, which was amazing. Unfortunately due to the weather we were unable to enjoy the whole experience. The room was of a high spec and was very homely.
With the restaurant and gym/spa facilities next door it is a very good get away if you want an all in one package.
All the staff made the experience so worth while we'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Read the reviews, expected much better. Room overlooked building site. No fridge,only one bedside table, no hotel bar. Bathroom looked as if something had been forgotten... walk in shower perhaps. Tiny reception and no parking. Bizarre choice on room service menu.Don't stay here...go to the Felix.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Varity over the New Year. The Check-In team were welcoming and we were swiftly taken to our room; the decor is funky-a sets a nice Boutique style. Our room was nicely appointed and had great views over Cambridge. The centre-piece of the Bathroom was a delightful period bath, and two nice sinks. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good sleep as the location is quiet, and yet a stones throw from St John's College and the historic centre for a nice morning walk. Overall a superb new hotel which Cambridge badly needed.
We dined in the River Bar for the New Year bash-the restaurant team performed miracles bearing in mind that they were fully booked and busy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eboracum15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertforshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed at the Varsity and made full use of its Spa facilities straight away. These were shown to us by Tariq who proved to be one of many very helpful and friendly staff.

The room was very comfortable, including large bed and beautifully appointed bathroom. Furnishings and tv were of very good quality. Lovely Elemis toiletries, soft towels and bathrobes - perfect.

Location was perect for us and right on the river Cam, punting just behind hotel, and next to Jesus Park, 10 mins walk to all main shopping areas.

Our only regret is that we did not try the restaurant for an evening meal, which we heard from other guests was excellent.

We will definately return to this super hotel, and hopefully in the summer its fantastic roof top area will be open.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1962Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,756 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing