We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed 10 February 2011

This hotel is a gem in the heart of Cambridge. Perfect location for exploring the city, the staff were friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully presented. Will definitely choose Varsity again for my next visit!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,409
    543
    255
    80
    24
See reviews for
306
1,319
80
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Location, property and quality are all first rate. The staff, room, services are all 5 star. We were there for my daughters interview for the Medical School, here is hoping that she gets in and we can make the Varsity a home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Bespoke hotel - in fantastic location. good attention to detail, unique design, linen of high quality. very friendly. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixs_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Had an excellent stay at the Varsity last week. It's far and away the best hotel I've stayed at in Cambridge (have stayed at 5 others in the past), and in fact one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. The decor is beautiful and the room was spotlessly clean. At check in I was offered a free turn-down service. When we returned from dinner I saw the bed had been turned down, but also that they'd tidied up the room and emptied the bins again. Everything worked well in the room and had been thoughtfully designed from the coffee maker to the lighting and DVD player in the bedroom, as well as super-comfy beds. All the furniture in the bedroom and sitting area was made from solid wood, as opposed to chipboard, and there was plenty of storage space. At the Doubletree in Cambridge they once gave me a room without any hanging space at all! The one slight disadvantage to the Varsity is that you have to step outside and walk around the corner to the restaurant area for breakfast, but this is more than compensated by the free pass to the spa by the restaurant. The Varsity is also in a good position in Cambridge, being near to all the nicest shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CUB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We at Enecsys Ltd are a world leaders in solar micro inverters. Based in south Cambridge, we use The Varsity Hotel on a regular basis for all our visiting guests and employees.

The Varsity is situated in central Cambridge, overlooking the River Cam, making it excellent to access the local amenities.

The rooms are spacious, well designed and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful and the dining excellent.

We would highly recommend The Varsity to any visitor to Cambridge.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enecsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2011

An absolutely brilliant hotel, with friendly, helpful, cheerful, interested staff who go out of their way to make the Varsity experience first class in every way. Beautifully furnished hotel, totally different from the usual boring hotel decor, gorgeous bathrooms, comfy beds etc etc. The very best hotel in Cambridge, by a long way. The Spa is lovely, with the same very high staff standards and excellent treatments given by experienced staff. Meals are served in the adjacent River Bar and Kitchen and we had a really great 3 course dinner there which really was good - the steak was excellent. Breakfast was another gastronomic feast - the coffee was the best I have tasted. Can'tn wait for a return visit and thoroughly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie12397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The fact that we'd left the Hotel behind only really dawned on us as we headed back down the A14 into what other people call "real life". Had it really only been 24 hours that we'd stepped into the Oasis of The Varsity to enjoy a cheeky mid week break from the kids and to celebrate a birthday? In point of fact we were so sad to be leaving behind our beautifully appointed room and the good times which we'd enjoyed in this amazing hotel, that we'd forgotten the name of at least one of our kids, replaced by Tariq, one of the most gracious hosts a guest could hope to meet. His team were so helpful, so aware of what we needed from our stay, that we'd have them all over to us in the summer. You know - to return the favour.

A perfect position in the heart Cambridge with beautiful panoramic views from the 5th floor. The spa facilities are excellent and just when you feel at your healthiest, there's a brilliant cooked breakfast to redress the balance.

Thank you Tariq and friends. We loved it and we'll be back. (My other half is travel journalist but I beat her to it this time!)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WidTheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing