We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, very cool hotel in teh centre of Cambridge with pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Lovely, very cool hotel in teh centre of Cambridge with pleasant staff”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

You just couldn't get closer to the centre of Cambridge than this cool, boutique hotel in Thompson's Lane. Very convenient for Magdalene, the ADC and the synagogue and indeed everything else...and it has fab views over the little houses and over to Magdalene fellows garden and across central Cambridge.
The hotel is, like Gaul, divided into three parts: there are the 48 bedrooms which are beautifully appointed and with all the bits like fluffy towels and robes, free Wi-fi and proper coffee. The standard ones are perfectly OK but the next price up - where we stayed (516 being the best) have whole walls of glass, balconies and loads of space and as for the suites - they are the stuff of serious fantasies - and serious price tags to go with. Plus there's a pleasant residents' lounge.
Then there's the gym and spa which looked rather smart, comes complimentary to the rooms but which I didn't try.
Thirdly, the grill restaurant where we breakfasted: the decor in a converted warehouse is soothing, the breakfast really good - buffet style but fresh and tasty with good coffee - and the staff delightful.
The rooms are all new-build and the rest a conversion.
The only downside is no parking, and no deal with the local garage which is extortionate. If they get that sorted, it will be practically perfect.
And come the summer, there's going to be a tea and cocktail lounge up on the roof - I think we just might go back and try it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    535
    255
    79
    23
See reviews for
301
1,302
80
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Good location, very modern rooms, efficient service

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
209 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed at The Varsity visiting our son who is studying at Cambridge (I think many of the guests were doing much the same). We had read the hype, but not heard any first-hand experiences. Well, although not the cheapest hotel in Cambridge, it certainly lives up to all the hype. Very welcoming staff; a great room, with very comfy bed and stunning view from floor to ceiling windows (we were on the 5th floor); and, once we had navigated out of the hotel to the spa/restaurant next door, an excellent breakfast. The obvious downside of a Cambridge city-centre hotel is no parking on-site or close by, but more than compensated for by the fact that the staff went up to the long-stay car park to sort out our 2nd day's parking.

The only other downside is that you actually have to go out of the hotel to go back into the restaurant next door - not ideal when it is cold and wet (which it often is in Cambridge) - but manageable.

It is at the top-end of Cambridge hotels in terms of costs, but is well worth the money. With fewer than 50 rooms, I suspect that this hotel will book out early. We will certainly be booking again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

This hotel is a gem in the heart of Cambridge. Perfect location for exploring the city, the staff were friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully presented. Will definitely choose Varsity again for my next visit!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Location, property and quality are all first rate. The staff, room, services are all 5 star. We were there for my daughters interview for the Medical School, here is hoping that she gets in and we can make the Varsity a home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Bespoke hotel - in fantastic location. good attention to detail, unique design, linen of high quality. very friendly. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixs_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Had an excellent stay at the Varsity last week. It's far and away the best hotel I've stayed at in Cambridge (have stayed at 5 others in the past), and in fact one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. The decor is beautiful and the room was spotlessly clean. At check in I was offered a free turn-down service. When we returned from dinner I saw the bed had been turned down, but also that they'd tidied up the room and emptied the bins again. Everything worked well in the room and had been thoughtfully designed from the coffee maker to the lighting and DVD player in the bedroom, as well as super-comfy beds. All the furniture in the bedroom and sitting area was made from solid wood, as opposed to chipboard, and there was plenty of storage space. At the Doubletree in Cambridge they once gave me a room without any hanging space at all! The one slight disadvantage to the Varsity is that you have to step outside and walk around the corner to the restaurant area for breakfast, but this is more than compensated by the free pass to the spa by the restaurant. The Varsity is also in a good position in Cambridge, being near to all the nicest shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CUB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing