We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive, but not intrusive service in a boutique hotel right in the centre of Cambridge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Attentive, but not intrusive service in a boutique hotel right in the centre of Cambridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Stayed here for one night this weekend, visiting a student studying at Cambridge like many others. Lovely clean, spacious room and en suite. Unusual to have clear glass in your bathroom window, but takes seconds to roll down the blind if you think you are overlooked. The full English breakfast used good quality sausages, which can often be the downfall of a good breakfast and was served hot. Our coffee cups were refilled regularly by friendly, relaxed but very professional staff. A very enjoyable evening spent in modern, comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wintersportsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,328
    515
    247
    78
    22
See reviews for
287
1,250
79
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

We were looking for somewhere central and a little bit special for a short break and certainly found it. This really is a boutique hotel in the very best sense.

Greeted by really friendly and helpful staff who gave us excellent advice on parking as Cambridge can be expensive.

The room really was stunning. We were lucky enough to stay in the master suite which has floor to ceiling panoramic views of the city and a large decked area outside (was a little too cold to make proper use of!) Lovely styling and all the things you'd expect plus a few more; complimentary DVDs, illy coffee machine, 2 televisions and a vintage telescope for the views! Bathroom was also lovely.

Breakfast was served in a light and airy room with views of the river. The reception area was not massive, but there was a lounge on the 2nd floor which we didn't investigate as we didn't want to leave the room!

Really great find in the perfect location. Can't recommned enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLouLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Well where do i start about my stay. how about, it was extraordinary!
the rooms that we stayed in were great. one was quite large with a king sized bed, massive glass window with a spectacular view of the canal and over-looking the colleges. it is very nicely furnished and designed. even the corridors of the hotel seemed like an art gallery. moreover a spacious gym and relaxing spa which gives a calm atmosphere to the place.
i received very good hospitality from the staff. they were very welcoming and helpful. including room service,
the restaurant was very artistically designed with the blend of old and new. it was a complete menu including a variety of different foods to everyones taste.
with a request we were able to have a peek at the penthouses and roof terrace with an amazing view of the city. it came to our knowledge that the roof terrace is going to become a cafe and sandwich bar in coming spring.
the location was fab. located in the heart of cambridge and walking distance from all the famous colleges and sites.
on a whole i would definitely recommend the Varsity Hotel because it is a package of excellent service, beautifully designed rooms and a stunning location. i personally am going to return in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saj34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishkek
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Sometimes a stopover turns out to be better than the final destinations, sometimes you wish it had been the destination; the Varsity Hotel in Cambridge is such a place.

After 3 days of traveling and probably looking and feeling like it's actually been a week, this is the place where you drag your weary broken body through the door; finally lay to rest your North Face bag which in the last 72 hours has doubled certainly as a bed, mostly a millstone, occasionally a bag and once or twice through sleep-deprived hallucinations - a travel companion and after all that they 'have a cancellation and have upgraded you to the penthouse suite' - I could have broke down and hugged the woman!

Their friendly and professional approach is vastly different to the usual 'upselling' in many hotels I've stayed in. My guess is that all sorts come through Cambridge and the staff at the Varsity are pretty good at assessing who would enjoy a spa treatment, who would like to take their prodigious son/daughter out for a meal and who, like me want nothing more than to hit the sack and get a decent breakfast.

My millstone was quickly despatched to the suite which to be fair was bigger than many apartments I've had and had all of the independent hotel 'touches' that stand out from corporate hotels.

The room and the views were something else and given the short 24 hour stopover - Backberry got charged, iPod found it was compatible with the in-house music system, Mac picked up the wireless and the min-bar got emptied.

Even jet-lag turned out better than expected - woke to the sun coming up over Cambridge and perfectly framed by the rooftop views of Cambridge colleges and the river that runs through. Through floor to ceiling windows or from the full length balcony it was a idyllic stopover.

I was first in for breakfast at the River Bar and as I stood unashamedly puffing on a morning Marlboro outside I was taken aback how many people were heading for the spa or spin class, or other cruel and unusual activities.

The breakfast was beautifully presented, the staff friendly and courteous and given the conversation between a fellow guest and clearly a rather well-informed waiter about the latest 'Marriage of Figaro' adaptation by the University operatic society I hazarded a guess a couple of poached eggs would be quite within his skill-set.

They were and that is true of all of the staff I encountered at this hotel. Friendly; courteous; efficient and above all great people-skills. Couple that with an amazing facility and a position to match you get a great hotel.

I wish I had stayed longer - but no doubt it will be around for a while yet - perfectly nestled within old Cambridge - the stopover you dream about.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadlesstravelled35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

I recently went to Cambridge with my boyfriend for a surprise romantic break to celebrate Valentine’s Day, and we stayed in The Varsity Hotel and Spa, and let me tell you I was not disappointed. I had never been to Cambridge before so it was amazing when my boyfriend organised with the concierge a walking tour for us and a punt around Cambridge. They provided us with warm woolly blankets, a bottle of Champagne and strawberries, a valentine’s day I will always remember. The views from the roof garden were beautiful as well, as we enjoyed afternoon tea. I love afternoon tea, this was definitely one of the best I have had and I have had a few. This is the best location for a hotel, its right in the midst of all the colleges, and brilliant for sightseeing. The concierge was very helpful and friendly throughout our visit and couldn’t do enough for us. Hopefully my boyfriend takes me again next Valentine’s Day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We have just spent a night at the Varsity Hotel.It is in a great location (hidden down a side street) in the centre of Cambridge which was perfect for us who went for dinner in the evening and shopping the next day. We stayed in one of the suites on the 6th floor which was beautifully decorated and had some amazing views. The room was extremely clean and had some great features such as an espresso machine and huge TVs and dvd players. The staff were all very friendly and helpful at the hotel. The only down side was the spa, I found it to be quite dirty and didn't like that you had to walk down the corridor in your towel with all the guests heading for their breakfast. Much rather changing roms that lead into the spa area. Lovely stay, would really recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Need I say more !! It its good enough for them its good enough for me ! We were amazed to see them in this boutique hotel. Type and nature commonly found in London .
Charming friendly staff led by the Italian manager ( Mr Pintus) who could not do more.

Excellent location with all the facilties expected of a five star hotel.My only gripe we had to go home. Parking a slight issue but other features more than make up for it.

Highly recommend this bolthole

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing