We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic”

King's College Chapel
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.79*
and up
Oxford and Cambridge Tour from London
Ranked #1 of 161 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This imposing English Gothic structure was built between 1446 and 1515, and is the site where many great scholars were educated.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Historic”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place is fantastic. Yes you have to pay to get in but it is a must see in Cambridge. The architecture alone is stunning. I suggest you go as part of a tour which I booked at the Tourist Information Centre (also online) as the guides know their stuff. Also buying a tour online gets you discounts to cafés and shops in Cambridge - we'll worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,777
    443
    106
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Its about £7.00 to get in, unless you are local and have paid £10.00 for a card with your photo on to prove that you are a resident in Cambridge (which is fair enough really).
Yes, it was a bit steep, but forgot about it as soon as I saw the mediaeval splendour of the fan vaults. The light coming in through the stained glass windows were like nothing I have seen before - they were all scenes from each book of the bible. We spent quite a bit of time just staring at the ceiling. For budding historians, there were other points of interests, including initials of 2 of Henry VIII's wives - the oak screen having Anne Boleyn's initial and the huge stained glass window at the alter bearing Katherine Howard's initials. Not forgetting the Tudor Roses and Beaufort Portcullises - and that's just a start.
At the side of the chapel, there were some areas for quiet reflection and a little section explaining the history of the chapel.
Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A chapel without spirit”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I were so disappointed in this chapel. We had expected a building with spirituality and all we found was a soulless museum with tourist meandering throughout the site. The architecture is stunning but we were disappointed with the general presentation – “get them in, get them out…” feeling about the building.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Get there before mid day to enjoy it at your leisure. We arrived later in the afternoon and only had half an hour before it closed

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HLF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous building”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This building is the iconic feature in Cambridge. It is what I think about when I picture the city and a visit here wouldn't be complete without a trip inside!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KCornish19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King's College Chapel also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to King's College Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing