We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DE 1957”
Review of Madingley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madingley Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

have been staying here during the week while working in cambridge , the venue is stunning in fantastic landscaped gardens . whilst a good distance out of cambridge it is peacefull and quiet unlike the travel lodges or premier inns in cambridge .
food is excellent at the bar although the menu could be varied more often .staff are first class very friendly and attentive . you wont get better value for money in the south of england rooms
are very good and well stocked .
demand for rooms is very high so book well in advance ,

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent but the views from the upper rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dale e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here over night as part of a wedding party, Madingley Hall is a beautiful place, the food was good and most of the staff were well alright. My main gripe is with one of the receptionists being very unreasonable and rude when we tried to get our room changed and the cleaning lady who tried to clean our room at around 9am (pre 11am checkout!!), not was it enough to try and turn her away 3 times, I could then hear her 'cursing' about it to one of the staff through the wall - seriously unprofessional. Apart from that though, makes for an awesome wedding venue and had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CrazyHorse019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We held our daughters wedding here the end of March, we couldn't fault the staff, food or the venue.A lot of the guests stayed over until Sunday morning and all bar none said how well they had slept and what a fantastic place Madingley Hall was.
We were lucky with the weather and were able to hold the pre dinner drinks outside where some of the the guests played croquet and the rest enjoyed the ambiance of the beautiful grounds. I would recommend this venue to anyone for a special occasion or as a one night stop over to explore Cambridge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatC1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This review is about a staff evening party that was held at this venue in one of the dining rooms. On approach the building gives you the Harry Potter feeling and indeed there was magic inside not only from the magician who entertained us at dinner but from the excellence of the surroundings and the level of service and attitude of the staff. The food was top rate and the service slick, Did not stay at the hotel although rooms were available if required. This is an ideal venue for a staff function

Room Tip: Dining only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I am told that this wonderful house was the one time lodgings of Edward VII (then Prince of Wales). It retains many original features and now provides accommodation for lesser mortals, like me! The bedrooms are comfortable and have showers and a desk. The dining room is smart and the food is very good.

My only gripe is the heating, which was strictly timed when I stayed there and the room got a little chilly in later evening.

The gardens are also worth a mention. They were laid out by the great Capability Brown and are quite beautiful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

stayed here two days and one night,a lovely building in magnificent grounds.As others have said this is not a hotel but for me this is part of its appeal.This is a great base to visit cambridge,it has ample parking,floodlit with cctv but costs about £12 each way in a taxi into cambridge centre which is about 10 minutes away.Please remember though although this sounds like it could quickly mount up,using taxis you have no parking to pay or find a spot for that matter and also i found the cost of staying there very reasonable(laterooms.com).The hall itself is a magnificent building,the room i stayed in was more than adequate,comfy,clean,wifi and tv. breakfast on this occasion was served in the terrace bar due to a function being held in the usual room downstairs,this was no hardship as the food was good quality and plentiful with a good range of english,continental, juices and hot drinks and newspapers too, i wanted for nothing.All the staff i encountered from arrival to departure were friendly and polite and nothing was any trouble at all. Madingley hall is a lovely quiet retreat from a hectic lifestyle,you will leave feeling refreshed and happy,its for this reason i will be staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karennnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed here for one night last week on business and only paid £55 inc full English breakfast via late rooms. This is a wonderful hotel and although the rooms are a little basic they contain all that you could need. The hotel is a little devoid of atmosphere in the evening as it appears to mainly cater for daytime seminars etc.......But no problem you can sit in the Bar or do what I did and walk three minutes down the road to the superb Three Horseshoes Gastro pub. All in all a really great value night which I really enjoyed.........Excellent service and great value this is highly recommended if you like me hate plastic hotels on motorway junctions..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,492 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,914 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cambridge
447 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madingley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madingley Hall

Address: Madingley, Cambridge CB23 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Cambridge
Price Range: £84 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Madingley Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Madingley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing