We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEWARE OF PRE-AUTHORISATION!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEWARE OF PRE-AUTHORISATION!!”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

If you use this hotel do not allow them to pre-authorise your card. The reception staff pre-authorised mine twice in error and despite numerous calls did not release it until four days after I had paid the bill in full and left. Effectively, they charged me twice for my stay there and when I called was told it was not their problem, it was up to the bank and that it would take 7 days to refund. They were no prepared to help in any way despite the fact that their error caused me to go overdrawn and incur bank charges. They were not even prepared to offer any gesture of goodwill to compensate for their error.
The lesson is, pay in cash so that you can be sure that you only pay once!
The price of parking is extortionate as well - £8 per day and £8 per night, so for each night you stay it costs you £16.
It is a shame because this is a lovely hotel, and the front of house staff are great. The management could certainly learn some lessons from them in terms of customer service!

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Calypso79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here on the 21st May 2011 for my girlfriends sister's wedding, the staff really went the extra mile to look after us, even sending out people to round up guests who had wandered off whilst the bride and groom were having their photos done!!! The food was amazing despite the fact that the chef had to wait an extra 45 minutes for us to be ready for it.
Rooms were comfy and had a lovely veiw of the park, and despite being town centre - really quiet! Breakfast, like dinner, was lovely with lots to choose from. The corridors and bedrooms could do with a bit of an upgrade but they more than make up for this with the service. Everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was VERY comfy, if i could have packed the bed, pillows and duvet i would have.

I would definately stay here again! thanks to all the staff who made the day really special for my girlfriends family!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpearles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding nearby, so luckily only had one night here. The staff were helpful and lovely, but the hotel itself is shabby.

The room we stayed in had a cracked, single glazed window that looked out over the roof of the kitchens ... and the 15 air con extractors which were running all night making a terrible racket.

We mentioned this to the autobot, sorry receptionist, as we checked out, but she simply replied with a "sorry about that" "enjoy your journey" and related automatic patter.

The décor meant that you felt like you were stuck in some sort of 80's nightmare.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hohum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Boston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The rooms could use some rehab, the location is excellent, you can walk anywhere. Internet is pretty iffy. Breakfast buffet was excellent and service was great.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mom2OneBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We visited the De Vere University Arms Hotel for afternoon tea with a view to staying here in the future. The afternoon tea was served in the bar overlooking Parkers Piece, a lovely expanse of parkland which was full of people relaxing on a warm Summer's day. The bar itself was comfortable, with leather sofas and characterful surroundings. Service was attentive and friendly. The afternnon tea was excellent value at £14.50 for two and consisted of an assortment of tasty sandwiches, scones with jam and cream, together with small pieces of fruit cake and chocolate brownies. There was a choice of loose-leaved teas and plenty of hot water for refills.

Whilst there, we had a look at an executive double room overlooking Parkers Piece. We were told that the room was soon to be re-furbished, but we would be happy to stay there as it was perfectly comfortable, clean and of a similar standard to other De Vere hotels we had stayed at.

We are looking forward to visiting the hotel again sometime soon,

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avalon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Certainly very well located. Staff is not very helpful, though and they do not clean too much--toilettes, doors, windows...were dirty.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inaki_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Last weekend we attended a wedding at this hotel which was brilliant.
Food good, bedrooms clean and comfortable, staff really good.
Wedding reception was well organised with attentive waiter and waitresses food was lovely

Room Tip: Get a room over Parkers Peace
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joburggal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing