We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located but a little tired and shabby.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
East Anglia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nicely located but a little tired and shabby.”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Overall no complaints and this was obviously once a very grand hotel but now it is desperate need of redecoration. Staff were inconsistent in terms of quality of service but as mentioned overall average value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I have to concur with many of the other recent reviews. Tired, shabby hotel and certainly not up to De Vere standard. Room was ok. Clean but again, shabby. Bed comfy and large. Tiny bathroom with a half size bath and cracked sink. Old fashioned TV (I thought all decent hotels would have plasma screens by now). Our room was on the first floor, corner of the hotel at the front, which was very noisy - especially since we were staying over the weekend and the bar across the street doesn't close till 1am. Sound of drumming bass music reverberating through the room! Not good. Staff were very friendly and helpful towards us - we called ahead to request an early check in since we were going to a wedding that day, and they were very nice and managed to accommodate us. However, we overheard a conversation between a guest (female) and another receptionist which was not so accommodating. The guest had many bags and asked the receptionist whether someone could help take her bags to her car and she was refused on "security" grounds. Bizarre! Breakfast was pretty poor too. Nice big breakfast room overlooking the green, but again, tired and shabby. Decent breakfast buffet selection but the quality wasn't there. You could also order from a small 'a la carte' selection. However, when my husband ordered "poached eggs with granary toast" from the menu, he got one small poached egg on toast (hard yolk). The next morning we both ordered boiled egg with soldiers - which again turned out practically hard boiled. Staff at breakfast were very friendly though. Overall, disappointed with our stay and would say the only thing going for it is the location which is superb. Oh, apart from parking which costs £16 a day!! Although that could be the Cambridge average...?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

notts
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had very fond memories of this hotel, unfortunately these memories were short lived when we arrived for our second visit to the De Vere. Our room was small and in desperate need of a refurbishment - does not deserve the 4* rating.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Turkey10Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We decided to extend a trip around East Anglia by taking an additional 2 days in Cambridge. As our first 4 days were to be spent at the Devere Dunston Hall Hotel near Norwich, we plumped for a hotel in the same group. After all 4 star is 4 star isn't it? Thankfully Dunston Hall was up to scratch but it soon became apparent that the same standards are not shared across the group. The hotel reception is located in an awful 1960s style extension with car parking straight in front of the main entrance doors. Inside despite the soon to close care home interior, the reception staff were welcoming and helpful raising expectations of a pleasant stay. However these were soon dashed as the second floor corridors bore a greater resemblance to a borstal unit than a 4 star hotel with a scrapyard patchwork of different style doors complimented by door frames and architraves fit only for a wood burning stove meeting the eye on exiting the lift. Our room which had a view north east partly over Parker's Piece, was small and yet overfilled with furniture. The single glazed steel windows which had to be left open to cool the room at night, had two cracked panes. The carpet had seen better days, the toilet was difficult to flush, the bath panel was rotted at the bottom and a connecting door had paper stuffed into various holes. Thankfully the single beds were comfortable and clean though this didn't help sleep as the noise from traffic and drunken revellers on Parker's Piece went on into the early hours. Thankfully on the plus side, breakfast in the large and pleasant dining room was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank madaboutbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Service was good, Hotel communal areas were beautiful, location was ideal for exploring the centre of Cambridge with everything in easy walking distance.
Really disappointed with the room (140) as it didn't live up to our previous experiences of De Vere Hotels. The room was dark, small and shabby, there were no curtains on the two opaque windows in the bathroom, and the bedroom window overlooked the hotels ventalation system.
The offsite Spa turned out to be a 15 minute drive away, in a leisure centre where some of the amenaties were out of order.
Breakfast was the best thing, and the disappointment was the worst bit.

Room Tip: we We didn't ask for anything specific, and got a poor room, we presumed all rooms were to a sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank apaterson773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

rooms in need of a revamp other than that excellent staff, food, location and got a free up-grade.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moorey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The hotel is rather small and the car park is a prime example of this. After arriving on a long car journey, there was 1 space left in the car park. There is a parking lot outside the front of the hotel entrance and more below the hotel. If you can avoid the lower level of the car park, then i strongly recommend it. The lower level is very small and not big enough at all. Not designed for any 5 door car.
After eventually parking, reception was quick and easy and we were taken to our room on the second floor. There are some nice rooms at this hotel, but my room was not one of them. It was small and the carpet needed vacuuming. The window panes needed either removing or painted, as the paint was peeling away. I realize, as it's an old hotel that not a great deal can be done, otherwise it would lose it's character, but a few small thing would make it seem like a 4 star.
The breakfast is good and the Parkers Bar is pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tromanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
906 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing