We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Booked in here as a group for business so it was pot luck for rooms but I ended up with a stylish, well appointed room... 221. Fresh fruit, wine, great shower, huge comfortable bed. Couldn't fault it. Colleagues got rather dowdy rooms though so it seems like pot luck all round at this establishment. Good location for exploring this amazing city. Watch out for cyclists at very turn! ;o)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nekkid-KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
There are newer reviews for University Arms Cambridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

Beware. They charge £16 a night for car parking and only have tiny signs by a busy road telling you this. In the car park itself they have big signs saying they are not responsible for anything but no clear signs that you have to pay. The breakfast was dreadful especially the stale cakes and hard eggs. the nosie form the bar opposite the hotel went on until 2am. The room was pleasant and old.I was overcharged in the bar.
I did complain and received a good reply and a small amout of compensation.
All in all it was a convenient place to stay but in my view poor value for money.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel away from the pub bar opposite and main road
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank SurgeonPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Hotel is well located between the station and the city centre but it is need of modernisation.

Room Tip: Stayed in Rm366 which was quiet, large but tired and in need of redecoration.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Keefster37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Reading some of the stinging reviews for this hotel, I was not looking forward to my stay with much relish. But now having stayed here, I'm disinclined to believe many of them. My room was very comfortable and nicely appointed.. yes some of the furniture is old, but so what? It still works! Tidy clean bathroom, nice view of the park behind, a profusion of pillows on a crisply made bed. Yes the lift is unfortunately out of service, yes some parts of the hotel are in need of some updating and I'm willing to concede that 'refreshingly unique' is perhaps a boast too far on the hotel literature, but this is a perfectly lovely place to spend the night - very central and for 85 quid on a rate booked no more than 3 days ahead, excellent value for money. And the public carpark around the corner charges more than 25 quid for a day's parking so 16 seems like a bargain to me.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Had an awful stay at this hotel. Granted it's an old building and in dire need of refurbishment, but in my eyes there is no excuse for it to be covered in cobwebs, smelling musty and frankly dirty. Furniture is chipped; beds sag and squeak; mirror broken; windows never been cleaned; dust everywhere; electrics dodgy with lights not working....

We had various issues with the room, called up the night manager who shrugged his shoulders and agreed with everything we said, but didn't move us. On check out we spoke to another manager and asked for a full refund, which he did without argument. However after saying I'd contact the Directors of DeVere hotels he was very rude and said why would I do that as he'd refunded me. He then went on to say it would just cause him loads of hassle! Well by putting us in a sub standard room it caused us a lot of hassle too!

There are far better and cheaper places to stay in Cambridge, please don't stay here.

Room Tip: I was told they are refurbishing some rooms, so ask for one of these!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights and throughly enjoyed our stay,great location,lovely staff and excellent breakfast.The rooms are somewhat jaded,however,refurbishment is underway and we will be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

staff were helpful and friendly, the 1st room we were in was tired and dated and we got almost no sleep due to the traffic and people on the street outside, we got moved the next day to anotherside of the hotel, which is onto Parker's Piece, this eliminated the traffic noise but was still extremely noisy with people outside for most of the night
£16 per day parking within the hotel which is unbelieveable.
We will not be staying again

Room Tip: not on main road or parker's piece
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve7804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.4 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £60 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing